We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property with only a running toilet flush valve problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1429 Hickory Point Drive, Forsyth, IL 62535   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Forsyth
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good property with only a running toilet flush valve problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The property was very good except the problem with the flush valve on the toilet that required manually turning it off each use. Otherwise the property was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie s, General Manager at Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your stay at the Hampton Inn Forsyth. We appreciate your feedback. I am so sorry you experienced a leaky valve during your stay. I am so glad the stay was great otherwise. If at any time you experience a problem please let us know as soon as possible so we may fix it or get you moved to a more suitable room. We do not want our guests to be uncomfortable during their stay. Thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely,


Angie Schmidt
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
18
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Staying at the Hampton Inn is always worth it, especially this one in a small town Illinois setting. Everyone was very friendly, and the rooms were spotless-as usual. The indoor pool room, however, was a lot smaller than like most of their locations, meaning typically there were many loud groups of people running around it, so not the most relaxing atmosphere if you just wanted to lounge in the hot tub. We needed to yell to hear ourselves talk if we went in the middle of the afternoon. The breakfast was very nice, and the staff was always there to wish you a good morning. Overall the stay was great. One tip- go to the pool (if that's something you like) earlier before breakfast, or in the early evening and it will be fairly relaxing. Also, around noon it is pretty low key as well.

Room Tip: Go to the pool earlier in the day before the crowds get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie s, Manager at Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, and for staying with us at the Hampton Inn Forsyth. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff loves to work with our guests and they love to hear from you. We look forward to being able to serve you again on your next trip to Forsyth.

We love having you here!


Sincerly,

Angela Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

As far as moderately priced mid line hotels Hampton Inns are the best in my opinion. They are always clean and comfortable and you get a pretty decent free hot breakfast. The location of this hotel is really good with a mall right behind it and several good dining options within walking distance. No complaints here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Came in for a dog show and ienjoyed my stay here. I even checked in early and they were able to accomidate me. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and had many choices for food & drinks. There is plenty of shopping and good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I frequently stay at Hampton properties, and am rarely disappointed. This is a very busy Hampton, but they always treat me like there most important guest. I stayed at this location for 18 nights in April 2012, and will certainly go back on my next visit to Decatur. The only downside was their waffle mix which needs some work, but everything else was exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is so screwed up I can't believe it hasn't been condemned. The entire place is sagging here and there, the floors are uneven. When standing in the hallway you can see the soffit going up and own by at least 6 inches.I tripped going into the bathroom as the floor sagging caused a transition. I truly was worried that the structure is comprimised and the place is going to collapse. For $159 a night you get a old Hampton, low water pressure, heavily perfumed room. The grout in the bathroom was missing next to the door, with a crack probably leading to the cravass to the ground.I am a Diamond with Hampton, and was not recognized as such upon arrival. I will try my best to avoid this hotel and I visit decatur 4 times a year for business.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked a room at the last minute, and requested to use Hilton Honors Points. When we checked in, we noticed "Welcome Hilton Honors" on the sign outside. Inside, on the front desk, was another welcome sign for Hilton Honors with our last name listed. The room was average, small but clean. After we settled into our room, the front desk called to see if there was anything else we needed, including suggestions for restaurants. We used the pool and the hot tub and both were enjoyable for the whole family. The next morning we were greeted with "good morning" and smiles as we entered the breakfast area. The breakfast buffet was uncrowded for a Sunday morning, and had lots of choices to please everyone. The motel is within walking distance of a mall and several restaurants. Not a fancy motel, but comfortable and with everything we were looking for (pool, free breakfast, free internet). In response to other reviewers: the motel was clean when we stayed there (and we are very picky), we didn't notice a smoke smell but there was a strong air freshner smell, yes - the eggs looked a little funny (egg crumbs is a good way to describe it), and we didn't have any problems with the speed of the internet. The staff really went above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful! Hilton brand motels do an excellent job of making us feel special!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth

Address: 1429 Hickory Point Drive, Forsyth, IL 62535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Forsyth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Forsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Hampton Inn Decatur/Forsyth, which is located just 8 miles away from Millikin University. It is also within 5 miles of numerous corporations. Take advantage of all the amenities we have to offer including free hot breakfast, free WiFi, an indoor pool, and 24-hr business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth Hotel Forsyth
Hampton Inn Forsyth
Forsyth Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Decatur / Forsyth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.