We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lots and Lots of Food"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotawata Creek

Lotawata Creek
311 Salem Pl, Fairview Heights, IL 62208-1314
618-628-7373
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“"Lots and Lots of Food"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Latawata Creek should be called lots and lots of food. When you eat at this busy joint you had better have a big appetite cause the amount of food you get is enormous. The chicken salad my wife got was big enough to feed two or three people. The service is good but you will probably have a long wait if you get there at meal time. We got there at 6:00 and had about a hour wait. But the food is worth the wait. Be prepared to have take home cause you won't be able to eat it all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    57
    16
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Better come hungry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Wow...great food and very big portions! The burgers and fries are wonderful. I also like the chicken fried chicken. You will love the food at LottaWatta!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

we were coming back from St Louis and friends recommened this place. I would have to say this is a GREAT place to eat. The rolls are unbelievable good and the portion of the food can be shared with 2 people. There is a $2 charge for sharing but well worth it. Pricing is a little on the high side, but if you share not to bad. Love our waiter he was great! The ice in our drinks were neat it was like it shaved ice. Sweet tea makes me think of South Caroina tea! We loved it, wished they had more of them in our area! Thanks for a great time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is our favorite restaurant in the St. Louis area. Lotawata is a place you visit when you are famished because they have huge portions. It doesn't matter because you'll still end up taking leftovers away. If you chose to split your entree with another guest, they charge a fee. It is better just to get the item and take home half. It is a popular place, so you'll have better luck avoiding a wait if you go early. We try to make it for lunch or an early dinner (around 4pm). They start you out with huge homemade rolls and cinnamon butter (or regular butter). They have an expansive menu. I have tried many things at Lotawata and I've never had something bad. They have a delicious homemade pot pie and the burgers are to die for. My husband gets the chili horseshoe or a burger. One time he tried the heart attack burger (deep fried burger). If you get fries as your side, you'll get a heaping portion of hand-cut fries that are deep fried to perfection. Check out Lotawata and you'll see why this is a local favorite.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“More than we could eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food was delicious and was more than we could eat. As a matter of fact, it evidently was more than most could eat because just about everyone was carrying out a doggie bag (us too!). We were impressed with the large variety of menu items. The wait was long (45 minutes) but it was worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotawata Creek also viewed

 
Fairview Heights, IL
 

Been to Lotawata Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotawata Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.