We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hibachi fun & great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shogun Japanese Steakhouse

Shogun Japanese Steakhouse
314 Fountains Pkwy, Fairview Heights, IL 62208-2165
618-628-3500
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hibachi fun & great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went for my birthday & had a reservation so we didn't have a wait. The line can get pretty long & the menu is a little pricey. It is such a fun atmosphere & the food is wonderful!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My family has discussed going to this restaurant for quite some time, but were not sure how the kids would like it. After taking the kids to a hibachi on vacation, to good results, we decided we we'd give it a go.

Everyone had a great time. The kids all loved the restaurant, even our almost 2-year old. The food was very good. My wife and I got filet mignon, I got mine with the salmon as well. The children got chicken and steak. Overall the food was very good. The fried rice and veggies were excellent. The filets were very tasty, though they came out well done instead of the ordered medium we both asked for. The kids loved the chicken and steak and the shrimp that come as a standard appetizer.

The surprise of all surprises is that we found out that our oldest son would actually eat brocolli. You just have to throw it in his mouth first! : )

There were five in our party and we were seated at a table with another family of four. I've heard complaints about having to sit with strangers, but for us it was fun. The chef was very entertaining and the server was prompt and courteous.

It's true that this place is not cheap, but it's definitely worth the price paid. You're paying for good food and good entertainment. Shogun did not disappoint on either front.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey, so go for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Their lunch prices are 1/4 of the dinner price, and you still get huge servings. It's always delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Food & Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We went to Shogun with a large group celebrating several birthdays including my son & daughter's. The show was above average and the food was pretty good. It's pretty difficult for a family of 4 to get out of this place for under $100. But it was a special occasion. After the meal, a bunch of the staff comes out banging drums and singing. One is dressed like a dragon. They take a picture with the birthday person and you get it when you leave. Overall, fun but pricey.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, especially with a crowd!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We went to Shogun for my husband's work Christmas party although we had been there before for other occasions. There are lots of these types of teppenyaki restaurants all over the US and they all pretty much have the same type of system. You sit around a big grill and the chef does various things with knives and spatulas, the onion "volcano", streaming saki into people's mouths, etc. etc. But it is a lot of fun especially if you are with someone who has not experienced it before. The food is usually very good; we both had the filet and shrimp combo and the filet was super tender. With it you get fried rice and lots of freshly grilled veggies.

We had appetizers before we were all seated, and they were not great. Absolutely the biggest calamari rings I have ever had and they were tasteless (in fact, some of our group thought they were onion rings). We also had shrimp cocktail and it was not cold...lukewarm shrimp kind of worries me! The exception was the stuffed mushroom appetizer which was very good.

Another thing which kind of bothered me but I tried not to be too overly concerned: our party had a mix of chicken and steak dishes and the raw meat all came out of the kitchen on one platter. Raw chicken needs to be kept separate from everything, and I'm not sure that is something that is a violation of some health code or not. I'm a little funny about chicken anyway, and I think I was probably the only one who noticed it.

For dessert try the tempura fried cheesecake...if you are not too overly stuffed by the huge amount of food! It is excellent and melts in your mouth!

Overall, this is a great place to go for a special occasion and a group party.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shogun Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

Fairview Heights, IL
Fairview Heights, IL
 

Been to Shogun Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shogun Japanese Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.