We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
15 Ludwig Drive, Fairview Heights, IL 62208-1332
618-397-9242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've picked this restaurant to eat at the last few times we've been in the area. Service is usually quick and attentive. The food here is always fresh and keeps us coming back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great bartender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

we had a little time to kill on a Saturday afternoon so went to Houlihan's. They have some fun adult beverages and the bartender was great at making suggestions for different drinks. The appetizers we ordered were great. Our group of 8 ordered 5 different appetizers. Not a bad one in the bunch.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Actually headed to Olive Garden, but it was very busy...so we circled around, out the parking lot and across the road to Hohoulins with much trepidation. Immediately seated....the soda pop was flat and we asked to replace and they did, two more times and then with no charge. The appetizers were great (stuffed mushrooms and spicey shrimp) and the meals were even better (Cajun chicken pasta, angus burger, salmon w/edame and quinoa, so. Cal. Fish tacos). Quick service and reasonable pricing--we'll be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmi, Illinois
2 reviews
“good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

the best drinks. good food and we had a good time the people there are all nice and friendly. it is a good place to sit back and relax. and I will go back

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What has happened to this place?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a place that we have been to several times, and like the food quite a bit. However, on our most recent visit, it seems like this place is starting to go downhill in service. We went on a Saturday night, but it wasn't too crowded and we were seated right away. We ordered our food, and waited 50 (five zero) minutes for salads. We started to joke that they were out back growing the lettuce. The portion sizes seem to be getting smaller (which is a shame since they are quite a bit pricier for comparable type restaurants), and the dressing was non-existent. Then, less than 10 minutes after receiving our dinner (and we weren't finished either), the server asked if we wanted to see a dessert menu. When we said no, she quickly brought the check. I'm sorry, if you had brought us our meal 30 minutes earlier, you wouldn't have to rush us! Then, the bill was wrong, and I had to show the server the correct price on the menu. I understand servers have a difficult job, but you need to know the menu, and make sure people aren't waiting an hour for entrees - especially when those entrees are salads.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 
Fairview Heights, IL
Fairview Heights, IL
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houlihan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.