We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Orrington/Evanston to your Saves list
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you're visiting Northwestern University or looking for a foodie place to stay outside of, but with easy access to, the city, this is a great hotel. The place itself is well appointed and well managed, but the staff sets it apart. They are incredibly helpful and accommodating. One time I arrived at 11:45pm and they had my keys and registration all ready and waiting at the desk to make check-in about a 30-second experience which was fantastic after a long day of travel. Another time I mentioned during check-in that I was there to spend my birthday with my son as a surprise from my husband, and later that afternoon a beautiful birthday cake was delivered to my room with a card from the staff. This customer-centric attention is pretty much the norm and not the exception at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much for the great feedback about the Hilton Orrington. The associates here at the hotel, really enjoy reading the positives results of their customer service efforts. Each and every day, we take great pride in making sure that our first actions, are ones that make our guest's stay exceptional .

Again, thank you, and we look forward to hosting you again.


Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    216
    122
    42
    36
See reviews for
173
73
55
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The wife and really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, but there were some issues with the building. Windows were a tad drafty and the walls and baseboards could stand a little work. But the service was excellent, everything was great. The people that work here, work hard to ensure that every guest is happy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Anthony, thank you for the great feedback. It's great to hear that the staff provided great service during your stay. Please know that the hotel has started a renovation process that will address the issues, you mentioned. We look forward to showing off the new look on your next visit.

Mike Mcguigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Hotel Orrington is an excellent place to stay. Every staff member is top notch, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. It is always clean. It is in an great location. We had alot of snow this trip and walked for 2 days, and didn't run out of good restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hugh S., thank you for the great feedback and kind words about your recent stay. The weather certainly wasn't kind during your stay, but glad to see the staff made things a little easier for you.

We look forward to your next visit, and bring some sunshine with you!!

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, IL, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have trouble on check-in in that we were assigned a room that reeked of cigarette smoke. Made a call from the room to front desk, and after a moderate wait on hold, we were assigned another room on the same floor. Bellman came up to bring us the key cards for the new room and left, and we went down the hall to find out that the new cards did not work in the door. So we had to carry our luggage down the elevator to the front desk and get a working set of key cards. Aside from the check-in issues, the room was large but pretty ordinary, few amenities, and some weird things such as the television being far away across the large room from the beds. We could not find outlets for phone and iPad chargers, and for a very large room the bathroom was tiny. In-room breakfast service was decent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Mark M., I was sorry to read that your check in process was not handled properly, and that the staff failed to react when they should have been providing assistance. Mark, please accept our sincere apologies for the mishap. The Hilton orrington staff prides itself on the efforts that it makes to provide exemplary service. In your case, we missed the opportunity.

Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback, which will only make us better.

Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I work remotely from NC but our HQ is in Evanston. I stay at the orrington on occasion when HQ based friends are traveling. I love the xtra effort the staff makes. We got a free corner room upgrade and a pre-stay email asking if there was anything we needed. These are great touches!! Keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay. The staff is working hard to ensure that all our visitors enjoy a great stay. It is also great to hear that all of the extra touches are making your visits a little extra special.



Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel is centrally located and very short walking distance to shopping, dining, and the "L". The hotel staff was very helpful and there were always taxis available should you need one. The elevators were fast and the dining attached to the hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Robert, it is great to see that you took advantage of our ideal location in Evanston and had the opportunity to use the hotel facilities while you here. We thank you very much for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit.



Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The food was very good at the wedding we attended at the hotel. The room bathroom is small and the window on the bathroom should be removed. Full service hotel without a pool is a surprise, but not missed at the discount wedding rate paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORRMGR1, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time for the great feedback during your recent trip in for a wedding here at the hotel. I see you enjoyed the food, and truly hope you enjoyed the atmosphere in our outstanding ballroom. The Hilton Orrington is a historic fixture here in Evanston, having been built nearly 90 years ago, so some of its features are unique.
Thank you again for your recent stay, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.


Mike McGuigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Orrington/Evanston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.