We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Save Saved
You added Hilton Orrington/Evanston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Evanston
A TripAdvisor Member
“Just Like Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hilton Orrington is the perfect combination of a chain (so quality standards are met) and boutique hotel. The staff is so incredibly friendly and hospitable. I have told people if I could, I would move into the Orrington - I feel so at home when I visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    187
    97
    33
    33
See reviews for
132
70
46
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the location was convenience for someone with business at Northwestern. The rooms smelled like an older building and there was a lot of noise throughout the night from the ally in the back. Turning on the fan drowned it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed one night while visiting NU. Our flight was late so we didn't arrive at the hotel until almost 1am - we were exhausted and just wanted to sleep but the hotel was being overrun by teenage kids in town for a Model UN program. They were unbelievably loud and seemed to exist on every floor. That's not really the hotel's fault, but it would have been nice if they were told to keep the noise down a bit. Our room was quite small (a King rm) and the bathroom even smaller, as in only one person at a time could be in there. The room was a bit dated and the beds/pillows not so comfortable but our sleep was short due to our late arrival and morning appointments. Completely agree with others that the internet was unacceptably slow - so slow that we turned off Wifi on our devices and just used 4G on our phones and tablet. Breakfast the next morning was running very late (30 mins for food) so we just grabbed the buffet and tried to pretend it wasn't as expensive as it was. Not a perfect stay for the price paid, but not horrible either. Definitely the best for a visit to NU, though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a real nice stay. The hotel is very conveniently located near the Northwestern campus. The suite we had was very clean and it was quite nice. Checkin was quick and the valet was efficient. My small gripe was that I was quoted one rate on the phone and then charged a higher rate on the bill. When I called, the call started out friendly, but ended just not as friendly as the employee on the phone should have been. It wasn't an argument or anything, but just not up to professional polite standards. And... we were woken up to loud noise outside the hotel in the morning, but I would expect that that was a rare occurence. I'm not sure what it was. (Some kind of construction?). But again, overall it was a very nice hotel, and most of the employees were extremely nice. Everything was very clean. The restaurant staff were great too. If you're going to an event at Northwestern and need a nice place to stay, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff was willing to help in any and all ways. I was dealing with a family emergency and they assisted me whenever I needed help. If I return to the area, I will certainly stay at The Hilton Orington.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is fine - as others have noted, it does feel a bit dated but the staff are doing what they can. Here are a few thoughts:

Likes:
- Loved the extra blanket in the room - that was a nice touch that many hotels forget.
- Friendly staff

Dislikes:
- Internet is unacceptably slow for a hotel that abuts a college campus. Invest in high-speed internet - it's a basic requirement now and the connection here is simply too slow to be useful.
- Room service menu needs some additions. Given that you are in a location with very few late night food options, late-arriving travelers need more options than are available. Consider ensuring that there is at least one non-beef soup option available at all times (French onion does not count).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're visiting Northwestern the Hilton Orrington is a likely candidate. It is literally just a block or two away from the campus. As many have noted below the hotel is a bit dated. The bathroom was tiny (lengthwise, the longest dimension, I could touch both walls standing in the middle). The aircon/heating unit would periodically go on at full blast every thirty minutes or so run for 10 minutes then flip off. Not exactly conducive to sound sleep. Oddly at check-in they handed HHonors members two bottles of "complimentary" water. Not exactly the thing one wants to be juggling as one carries one's bags up to one's room.

The lobby staff was extremely attentive though from the valet parking ($22/day) and the concierge/luggage staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Orrington/Evanston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.