We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for visit to Northwestern; Nothing Special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Orrington/Evanston to your Saves list
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient for visit to Northwestern; Nothing Special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed one night while visiting NU. Our flight was late so we didn't arrive at the hotel until almost 1am - we were exhausted and just wanted to sleep but the hotel was being overrun by teenage kids in town for a Model UN program. They were unbelievably loud and seemed to exist on every floor. That's not really the hotel's fault, but it would have been nice if they were told to keep the noise down a bit. Our room was quite small (a King rm) and the bathroom even smaller, as in only one person at a time could be in there. The room was a bit dated and the beds/pillows not so comfortable but our sleep was short due to our late arrival and morning appointments. Completely agree with others that the internet was unacceptably slow - so slow that we turned off Wifi on our devices and just used 4G on our phones and tablet. Breakfast the next morning was running very late (30 mins for food) so we just grabbed the buffet and tried to pretend it wasn't as expensive as it was. Not a perfect stay for the price paid, but not horrible either. Definitely the best for a visit to NU, though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    216
    122
    42
    36
See reviews for
173
73
55
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a real nice stay. The hotel is very conveniently located near the Northwestern campus. The suite we had was very clean and it was quite nice. Checkin was quick and the valet was efficient. My small gripe was that I was quoted one rate on the phone and then charged a higher rate on the bill. When I called, the call started out friendly, but ended just not as friendly as the employee on the phone should have been. It wasn't an argument or anything, but just not up to professional polite standards. And... we were woken up to loud noise outside the hotel in the morning, but I would expect that that was a rare occurence. I'm not sure what it was. (Some kind of construction?). But again, overall it was a very nice hotel, and most of the employees were extremely nice. Everything was very clean. The restaurant staff were great too. If you're going to an event at Northwestern and need a nice place to stay, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff was willing to help in any and all ways. I was dealing with a family emergency and they assisted me whenever I needed help. If I return to the area, I will certainly stay at The Hilton Orington.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is fine - as others have noted, it does feel a bit dated but the staff are doing what they can. Here are a few thoughts:

Likes:
- Loved the extra blanket in the room - that was a nice touch that many hotels forget.
- Friendly staff

Dislikes:
- Internet is unacceptably slow for a hotel that abuts a college campus. Invest in high-speed internet - it's a basic requirement now and the connection here is simply too slow to be useful.
- Room service menu needs some additions. Given that you are in a location with very few late night food options, late-arriving travelers need more options than are available. Consider ensuring that there is at least one non-beef soup option available at all times (French onion does not count).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're visiting Northwestern the Hilton Orrington is a likely candidate. It is literally just a block or two away from the campus. As many have noted below the hotel is a bit dated. The bathroom was tiny (lengthwise, the longest dimension, I could touch both walls standing in the middle). The aircon/heating unit would periodically go on at full blast every thirty minutes or so run for 10 minutes then flip off. Not exactly conducive to sound sleep. Oddly at check-in they handed HHonors members two bottles of "complimentary" water. Not exactly the thing one wants to be juggling as one carries one's bags up to one's room.

The lobby staff was extremely attentive though from the valet parking ($22/day) and the concierge/luggage staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel during a trip to see colleges, in this case Northwestern. It is an older hotel that has been updated. As such the rooms are different than what I expected from the online reservation photos, etc. Rooms are older though again clear updated to some extent; bathroom was very small, but clean. We were only there for one night so it really did not matter one way or another.

Hotel was clean, comfortable. Staff were helpful.

You pretty much have no choice but to park at the hotel if you are driving, and I find the parking rates to be exorbitant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We parked the car upon arrival and didn't need it again until departure. Perhaps because it was Spring Break, the hotel wasn't that full and we were able to get an early check-in before our afternoon visit to Northwestern. It was a short walk to the downtown area for lunch and then a few blocks in the other direction for campus. We enjoyed our afternoon snack at the Globe Cafe which is part of the hotel. The nearby Cellar at the Stained Glass is a fantastic restaurant for dinner. The room was fine with excellent Peter Thomas Roth toiletry items. The breakfast buffet was delicious and included made-to-order omelets. Definitely the place to stay if you're at Northwestern!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Orrington/Evanston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.