We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but expected more for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Save Saved
You added Hilton Orrington/Evanston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Evanston
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but expected more for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Chose this hotel since within walking distance to Northwestern and also train station - paid a little more than desired for these perks.

It was nice, though a little outdated. Staff were pretty friendly but no one bending over backwards.

As there are only a few options in Evanston, I would recommend this hotel if you're looking to stay right in town and right near the campus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    188
    98
    35
    33
See reviews for
134
70
46
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The good: excellent staff at the front desk, concierge, and bell service. Clean, comfortable and updated rooms. Good restaurant for breakfast. Walk 1 block to Northwestern University. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
The not-so-good: the bathroom in our room was a little strange...the light switch was located behind the door. Some groping and stumbling if you are trying not to disturb the rest of your party while they are sleeping. Also, the walls are fairly thin and we were able to hear the people's conversation in the room next to us.
All in all a good stay, however! The breakfast buffet has everything you could ever think of.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our service, location and the Hilton breakfast buffet. My apologies for the location of the bathroom light switch, some of our hotel bones are not the easiest to navigate around. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed 4 nights on business in Jan 2013 and had a good stay. It's ideal if you are visiting or otherwise have business in Evanston, Skokie or the north end of Chicago. The exercise room is spacious and very good and this Hilton is in a very walkable neighborhood day or night with a lot of food and shopping options within a 2 block radius. Another big plus: it is walkable to the Metra and CTA train stops. The lobby bar is also nice. The junior sized rooms have oddly small bathroom vanities but that was not a big deal since I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your time here and got to experience all that Evanston has to offer...despite it being January! We hope to see you again on your next business trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have made a reservation with Hotel Orrington via Booking.com. My parents decided to join me as well and booked another hotel in the area. I understand I booked the reservation with Orrington under non-refund policy.

I am a very reasonable customer, and thought it's no harm to give a try and see if any party (hotel / booking.com) can lower the penalty to one night, instead of full stay (USD 500) . A customer service at Booking.com answered the phone, and didn't help at all.

I called the hotel staff to check the possibility of cancellation or dates change. First hotel staff was nice and polite but she can't find my reservation in the system.

I then called back to Booking.com to ensure that my reservation is in the system. This time customer service at booking was so rude. She said my direct check with hotel doesn't prove anything, because she had confirmed with another staff working at hotel by throwing some random staff name.

I started not to believe in customer service at booking.com and requested hotel staff's name who confirmed my reservation. When I requested the spelling of the name, which is not a common name, booking.com staff challenge me why I don't know the spelling. OMG, I was so shocked by her response, and she started to yell at me over the phone...

I called in hotel again. Another nice staff answered and was willing to make changes, but once again, she confirmed no one can change the reservation but booking agency...

This is very bad online booking experience. No complaints on hotel. Hope hotel can feedback to Booking.com for future improvement.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will definitely pass your remarks regarding your experience along to our market manager. It is unfortunately true that when making a reservation with a 3rd-party company like you did, the hotel isn't able to modify or cancel the reservations in any way. I hope that next time you and your family is in Evanston, you book directly with us and avoid the head ache!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is in a nice area, very close to Northwestern. It's well maintained, my room (a superior) was clean and spacious. The A/C worked well. It was really what one can expect from a Hilton, or any of the other respectable chain hotels. The one downside was the my room was facing the back, and there was some noise from A/C units on the roof of an adjacent building. It wasn't a issue when the window was closed, but opening it, for air, did let it some annoying noise. I'd suggest asking for a room facing another direction, as the area in general is quite at nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope you stay with us again next time business brings you to Evanston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Located right in the heart of the quaint college town of Evanston.
Rooms are small. Bathroom is even smaller. Room for one person only! Not a lot of room for a couple to spread their cosmetic bag items in there! DId I mention the bathroom is really small?!
Room is modern and very clean. Bed was super comfortable with lots of pillows.
Wasn't in the room much; however, the TV worked fine as did the FREE Wifi in the room (bonus!)
What was tricky was that the safety deposit box ws located in the night table on the bottom shelf; A friend of mine was dow the hall and she and her husband didn't even know there was a safe until I told her. This should be mentioned at the front desk during check-in. I found it awkward to use (if you're older and not flexible, it would be difficult) and kept hitting the numeric pad twice (small numbers, long nails). I ended up having to call security since I tried the code too many times and it wodln't allow me to try any more. The guy had to open it for me!
The fitnesss room was adequate-not huge. Suffcicient machines and weights. Limited floor space for any mat exercise.
Brunch at Globe(attached to the hotel) was delicious! The buffet was excellent and had everything.

Room Tip: I was in 417. Don't get it if you want to hear people coming and going through the main entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review! We actually try to put guests on the front of the hotel since that has a nicer view than the back, which faces an alley. Of course, the downside is that there could be more noise from people on the street! Next time, try a room in the back of the hotel, as you might like the quitness more. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room was very clean, staff were very helpful and friendly, and the price was average. Even though I would rate the price as being average, I feel I got my money's worth since the accommodations were excellent. The only complaints are the bathroom was a bit on the small side with no ventilation for the shower steam and $22 per night for parking is a bit steep, however, you would definitely pay more than double that if you stayed in Chicago. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ A, General Manager at Hilton Orrington/Evanston, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and we are looking forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Orrington/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orrington/Evanston

Address: 1710 Orrington Ave, Evanston, IL 60201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Orrington/Evanston 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Orrington/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orrington Hotel Evanston
Orrington Hotel Evanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Orrington/Evanston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.