We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, kind of old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added University Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
University Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Sherman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, I had two interviews scheduled in Evanston and Chicago, so this place was ideal for a one night stay. My hotel room was clean and the view was great. Two days after I left, I checked my bank statements and they charged me $250 dollars for cigarrette smoke. I was very upset to learn this considering that I DON'T SMOKE nor have I ever. I don't know what they where getting this information. To add insult to injury, I called and demanded that I speak to someone about this and there was no one there in power to refund me back my money. After I asked what evidence they had of smoke for example, an actual ciggarrette butt or ashes, and they said there was a sense of smell, not SCENT, A sense. I don't know if they percieved smoke, or was so ignorant that they said sense instead of scent. This is very upsetting and I am still fighting to get my money back because I was robbed, and I am completely innocent of their crazy accusation. Maybe their cleaning staff smoked in the room after we left, but if I smoked, i would have just gotten a smoking room that is the same price. Well the manager hung up on me and was very rude, my husband got on the phone and still he hung up on him. This place was a night mare. I am trying to get a job in the Illinois area to make money, not lose it. Now my bank account is overdrawn and I can't afford my car note this month, I am not rich and I work very hard for my money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The advantage of this hotel was the location (close to NWU) and cost. The beds were comfortable; the view was great. The parking lot elevator was broken requiring moving luggage up and down stairs. Staff was very friendly and helpful.


  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This used to be a good hotel. Needs some serious updating. Clean, but Old TVs, bathroom fixtures. Expected a lot more for $99. Location is excellent. Parking $14.
A good place for college kids.
Watch out for the smoking rooms.
The whole floor can stink of smoke.
Friendly front desk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Picplr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had a fantastic experience at this hotel. I stayed here back in December thanks to a 2-night deal on Kayak. I wasn't expecting much due to the price that I paid but boy was I surprised! The downside of this hotel was the lack of free parking ($14/day!) but everything was fantastic. The beds were comfortable, the staff was so nice, the breakfast was meh, but it was free! How can you beat that? The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the parking. boo! It was right around the corner from the train station, and on a Sunday it took us about 40 minutes to get to the city center. On Monday (after rush hour) it only took us about 25 minutes.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the city - it's a small view but it's a view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenscobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#3 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Chicago / Loyola University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel

Address: 1501 Sherman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Plaza)
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — University Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Plaza Hotel Evanston
Best Western Hotel Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing