We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the smoking floor. Clean, but needs updating.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN University Plaza to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN University Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Sherman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid the smoking floor. Clean, but needs updating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This used to be a good hotel. Needs some serious updating. Clean, but Old TVs, bathroom fixtures. Expected a lot more for $99. Location is excellent. Parking $14.
A good place for college kids.
Watch out for the smoking rooms.
The whole floor can stink of smoke.
Friendly front desk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    134
    104
    54
    24
See reviews for
158
67
42
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had a fantastic experience at this hotel. I stayed here back in December thanks to a 2-night deal on Kayak. I wasn't expecting much due to the price that I paid but boy was I surprised! The downside of this hotel was the lack of free parking ($14/day!) but everything was fantastic. The beds were comfortable, the staff was so nice, the breakfast was meh, but it was free! How can you beat that? The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the parking. boo! It was right around the corner from the train station, and on a Sunday it took us about 40 minutes to get to the city center. On Monday (after rush hour) it only took us about 25 minutes.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the city - it's a small view but it's a view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in November. My room was perfectly nice and the bed was incredible comfortable. The room was clean and I had absolutely no problems. The on-site parking is in an attached deck that can be a little creepy in the dark but it is monitored 24/7. The breakfast buffet wasn't elaborate but if you're okay with continental you won't be disappointed. The excellent Irish pub across the street starts serving at 11:00 and their food is great. They serve Irish breakfast all day also. Bottom line: Great price for Evanston, decent facilities and staff, give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Apart from the location, I wouldn't go there again. Everything was mediocre. The WiFi was very bad, it would not connect. When i called the front desk, they sent over a person, with a LAN cable and connected my laptop to the in room modem. I still didn't get internet, and worst of all, the modem started overriding my WiFi settings. I had to disconnect the cable. The bed was uncomfortable. The shower pressure was non-existent. Parking was $ 14, which I can live with. The TV was an old CRT which was grainy on every channel. The room and bathroom were clean, which was a saving grace. The breakfast was passable with sufficient choices. All in all, for the money, the experience was bad.

Room Tip: As for a lower floor for better shower pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean the bed was very comfy but the toilet in the room was stopped up before we got there also the tv signal was very fuzzy on top of the fact that it was an old style tube tv I would still recommend this hotel to friends I slept like a baby

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in Evanston for a couple of nights during Christmas week and really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly - not just the desk staff but all staff; the room was very clean; and they practice "green" washing of sheets and towels. The fitness room was adequate and the breakfast was excellent.
It was a reasonable and very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pretty neat rooms, nice quality bed. The old window AC makes the room a bit dry. Walking distance to shops and restaurants downtown Evanston and Northwestern U. Breakfast was OK with not too many choices of food, but I'll not complain as long as waffles are served. Didn't go to the fitness center or the pool(pool opens in summer only), but at least I know it's an option of workout there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN University Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Plaza

Address: 1501 Sherman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN University Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Plaza Hotel Evanston
Best Western Hotel Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.