We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Homestead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Homestead to your Saves list
The Homestead
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 Hinman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic Lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews, but decided to stay at The Homestead anyway. I reserved a "small apartment" with a separate bedroom and kitchen. There were three hot water radiator-heaters in the unit and each worked fine. The place was definitely vintage but reasonably maintained and clean.

My only real complaint is the amazing amount of cold air that blew in through the bathroom window, around the window frame. (It was winter; probably lots of hot air in summer.) Otherwise the location is perfect for someone who cooks; only one block to Whole Foods Market with the hotel parking structure one half block away. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and plan to pay for it. Also reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for choosing The Homestead! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Thank you for mentioning our location, and our close proximity to Whole Foods. You’re absolutely right that this is the perfect place for someone who likes to cook, or who would like the option to cook while visiting; we certainly appreciate you mentioning it! The Homestead is a registered historic place, and as such, we marvel in our vintage charm.
We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience you experienced with cold air during your shower. Please know that had we been made aware of the issue, we would have done our very best to relocate you to a more accommodating suite while addressing the situation.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Evanston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
28
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Some people like to call it "old world charm". Some people don't find it so charming. The Homestead is old, but it is also clean and cared for.

With beautiful original windows, old scratched up "antique" furniture, I can see how one could find this to be a charming environment. However, what I look for in a hotel is a place where I can sleep well and be ready and fresh the next morning. This is where the hotel fell short for me. There are doors separating my room from two adjacent rooms, and so I can hear rather clearly, people talking in the next room. I can hear them blowing their noses, moving their luggage, etc... it is not subtle.

The bathroom is clean and well cared for. But again, it is old. So when someone in another unit flushes a toilet, you hear the sound of rushing water through the pipes, from your bed. The shower is tiny... so small, in fact, that were you to drop the soap, you would have to step out of the shower to retrieve it.

The bed is relatively comfortable, though a bit old and sunken. It is, however, very clean.

As with most of these old buildings, the Homestead has radiator heat. So you may go to bed thinking the room is cool and wake up in the middle of the night burning up with a dry throat. Anyone who has lived in such a building knows that you have to find a way to make this work... maybe turn the radiator off at night or open the window slightly. But it takes a couple nights to figure it out, and I only stayed here a couple nights.

I remember staying here a few years ago and it hasn't changed much. There is a continental breakfast, which is passable, with strong enough coffee that you don't need to run out in the morning. But again, more then a couple nights and I might start getting anxious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Our property’s doors officially opened in 1928, establishing our hotel as a historic place in Evanston. Thank you for mentioning the care that is taken with what we believe to be an incredibly special property, in addition to the great job that our housekeeping and maintenance team does to ensure a clean and inviting place to welcome our traveling guests.

Due to the historic nature of the building, there are a very limited amount of guest rooms that are exclusively equipped with showers. We recognize that some guests may find traditional bathtubs to be more preferable. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced regarding this. In the future, if we are made aware of your preference, we will do our very best to accommodate your request.

Additionally, please note that in the event you ever feel that your mattress is not as comfortable as it should be, please let us know so that we can take action and make the necessary replacement. We recognize the value of a wonderful night's rest, and want to make sure that your stay with us is as relaxing as possible.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and value your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The only thing this place had going for it was convenience as we have family close by. We had a problem with noise from the next room, the room above and outside. The bathroom was so tight and poorly configured that it was hard to use. The breakfast is not worth it at all -- you're better off going down the street to Peets. Don't get me wrong, it was not a miserable 2 nights, but I see no reason to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise when we walked into our room with a view of Lake Michigan. The Homestead is a long time hotel in downtown Evanston, but on our many visits we had not stayed before. The suite was charming, with a small kitchen, living room and bedroom. Plenty of closets too. The hotel provides a very good continental breakfast, free parking and internet. Furniture is older, almost antique, adding to the charm. The rooms are quiet and comfortable even on the very cold days we were there. One suggestion to the hotel is that they upgrade the beds and bedding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pros: great, safe location close to shops, restaurants, Northwestern, and lake. Our huge 2 bd/2 ba suite included an immaculate kitchenette with a chandelier, a huge living area, and a walk-in closet, for less $$ than 2 rooms at the Hilton Garden. Free wi-fi, free continental breakfast (good and fresh), and homey touches (assorted books in the room’s bookshelves). Staff is wonderful. Despite a conference staying there, it was surprisingly quiet. Nice, peaceful breakfast nook area with fireplace doubles as bar at night with good drinks.

Cons: needs updating, starting with the slow, tiny elevator’s stained carpet and scratched walls. Wallpaper in the hallways needs replacing, beds are rather mushy. In our room classic, timeless furniture clashed with other furnishings that are dated/worn beyond salvation, and a faded picture sat in a broken frame. There are no King beds, just Queens & Twins, though there is plenty of space for a roll-away twin or two. One of our 2 showers had no lighting. Hot water ran out one morning. Some windows whistled in the wind. It was tricky regulating the heat in too-warm rooms at night.

Parking is a block away, but validated for free.

The Homestead is for you if you seek a spacious, homey place with some character at a very reasonable cost. If you prefer modern uniformity, not so much. It wouldn’t take much updating to bump the Homestead to 4 or 5 stars easily; it has great bones! Of course, then they could charge boutique prices.

2 nearby places we recommend:
Bennison’s Bakery, 1000 Davis Street is worth a stop. Great cakes, brownies, and much more. About 4.5 blocks West of The Homestead.

Gigio’s Pizzareia, 1001 Davis St. Good, cheap, thin crust pizza by the slice or pie, and tacos. Pizza AND tacos?! My teens were in heaven. Across from Bennison’s Bakery.

Room Tip: Higher floors have view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Homestead was perfect for my 2 week business trip to Evanston. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment that included everything I needed, living room, full kitchen, bedroom and more closet space than I knew what to do with. The location is perfect! It's just a short walk to downtown for shopping and dining. The staff at The Homestead are very friendly and helpful...some of the best staff I've encountered in my business travel. I loved the historical architecture of the building as well. They also have a very nice fine dining restaurant, The Quince. Try their New York Strip...excellent! I highly recommend The Homestead for your next stay in Evanston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Homestead offers an affordable option in a convenient location for a Chicago suburb. We paid $126 a night (including breakfast) which was a lot cheaper than a lot of the hotels we looked at. It's quirkier than what you'd get at a chain hotel but if you see the quirks as charms you'll probably be well pleased with the place. The hotel is close to Northwestern and it reminds me a lot of my old-fashioned and elegant college dorm - academic and overly heated but still cozy. The heat was impossible to regulate so the room was really hot in contrast to how cold it was outside. The room and bathroom were on the small side and felt "lovingly used" as opposed to worn-down. The furniture and decorations were pretty and enforced the ambience of the ivy league. Parking is available at a big garage a couple blocks away which the hotel validates, which is great. The neighborhood is very pretty. It's an easy walk away from plenty of restaurants, grocery stores and shops and getting to public transport that will take you into the city is also easy. Breakfast ended a bit early for our taste but we are not morning people!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let people know about your recent experience at The Homestead. We love receiving positive reviews like this one, and appreciate the care you took in sharing the details of your visit. We agree that our property has some very charming quirks, some of my personal favorites include the old brass mailbox next to the elevator, as well as the illuminated “step down” sign that runs along the stairs between the lobby and Q2 Lounge.

Our apologies for your trouble while attempting to regulate the heat. For future reference, there is a control knob on the radiator that enables you to make adjustments to your desired room temperature. And of course, we’re always happy to have one of our team members do it for you, should you prefer it!

Thanks for mentioning the ivy-league ambiance, as well as the easy access to shops, restaurants, and public transportation to downtown Chicago. We love our location, and couldn’t be more pleased that you took the time to address it, thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Chicagoland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1625 Hinman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Homestead 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homestead is a historical hotel, ideally nestled on a residential street just two blocks from both Northwestern University as well as the sandy shores of Lake Michigan. Just a five minute stroll to lively downtown Evanston, we provide our guests with inviting and comfortable accommodations in an appealing, European atmosphere. Each of our ninety guestrooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartment suites have been individually adorned with traditional decor, guaranteeing every guest a unique experience in charming and gracious surroundings. Complimentary continental breakfast, wireless internet, and garage parking are included with each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Evanston
Homestead Hotel Evanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.