We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Lake Michigan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Homestead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Homestead to your Saves list
The Homestead
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 Hinman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Charm and Lake Michigan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise when we walked into our room with a view of Lake Michigan. The Homestead is a long time hotel in downtown Evanston, but on our many visits we had not stayed before. The suite was charming, with a small kitchen, living room and bedroom. Plenty of closets too. The hotel provides a very good continental breakfast, free parking and internet. Furniture is older, almost antique, adding to the charm. The rooms are quiet and comfortable even on the very cold days we were there. One suggestion to the hotel is that they upgrade the beds and bedding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
27
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pros: great, safe location close to shops, restaurants, Northwestern, and lake. Our huge 2 bd/2 ba suite included an immaculate kitchenette with a chandelier, a huge living area, and a walk-in closet, for less $$ than 2 rooms at the Hilton Garden. Free wi-fi, free continental breakfast (good and fresh), and homey touches (assorted books in the room’s bookshelves). Staff is wonderful. Despite a conference staying there, it was surprisingly quiet. Nice, peaceful breakfast nook area with fireplace doubles as bar at night with good drinks.

Cons: needs updating, starting with the slow, tiny elevator’s stained carpet and scratched walls. Wallpaper in the hallways needs replacing, beds are rather mushy. In our room classic, timeless furniture clashed with other furnishings that are dated/worn beyond salvation, and a faded picture sat in a broken frame. There are no King beds, just Queens & Twins, though there is plenty of space for a roll-away twin or two. One of our 2 showers had no lighting. Hot water ran out one morning. Some windows whistled in the wind. It was tricky regulating the heat in too-warm rooms at night.

Parking is a block away, but validated for free.

The Homestead is for you if you seek a spacious, homey place with some character at a very reasonable cost. If you prefer modern uniformity, not so much. It wouldn’t take much updating to bump the Homestead to 4 or 5 stars easily; it has great bones! Of course, then they could charge boutique prices.

2 nearby places we recommend:
Bennison’s Bakery, 1000 Davis Street is worth a stop. Great cakes, brownies, and much more. About 4.5 blocks West of The Homestead.

Gigio’s Pizzareia, 1001 Davis St. Good, cheap, thin crust pizza by the slice or pie, and tacos. Pizza AND tacos?! My teens were in heaven. Across from Bennison’s Bakery.

Room Tip: Higher floors have view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Homestead was perfect for my 2 week business trip to Evanston. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment that included everything I needed, living room, full kitchen, bedroom and more closet space than I knew what to do with. The location is perfect! It's just a short walk to downtown for shopping and dining. The staff at The Homestead are very friendly and helpful...some of the best staff I've encountered in my business travel. I loved the historical architecture of the building as well. They also have a very nice fine dining restaurant, The Quince. Try their New York Strip...excellent! I highly recommend The Homestead for your next stay in Evanston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Homestead offers an affordable option in a convenient location for a Chicago suburb. We paid $126 a night (including breakfast) which was a lot cheaper than a lot of the hotels we looked at. It's quirkier than what you'd get at a chain hotel but if you see the quirks as charms you'll probably be well pleased with the place. The hotel is close to Northwestern and it reminds me a lot of my old-fashioned and elegant college dorm - academic and overly heated but still cozy. The heat was impossible to regulate so the room was really hot in contrast to how cold it was outside. The room and bathroom were on the small side and felt "lovingly used" as opposed to worn-down. The furniture and decorations were pretty and enforced the ambience of the ivy league. Parking is available at a big garage a couple blocks away which the hotel validates, which is great. The neighborhood is very pretty. It's an easy walk away from plenty of restaurants, grocery stores and shops and getting to public transport that will take you into the city is also easy. Breakfast ended a bit early for our taste but we are not morning people!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let people know about your recent experience at The Homestead. We love receiving positive reviews like this one, and appreciate the care you took in sharing the details of your visit. We agree that our property has some very charming quirks, some of my personal favorites include the old brass mailbox next to the elevator, as well as the illuminated “step down” sign that runs along the stairs between the lobby and Q2 Lounge.

Our apologies for your trouble while attempting to regulate the heat. For future reference, there is a control knob on the radiator that enables you to make adjustments to your desired room temperature. And of course, we’re always happy to have one of our team members do it for you, should you prefer it!

Thanks for mentioning the ivy-league ambiance, as well as the easy access to shops, restaurants, and public transportation to downtown Chicago. We love our location, and couldn’t be more pleased that you took the time to address it, thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Chicagoland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Homesteader, located on a lovely street on the Northwestern campus, offers a quiet get-away in an old-fashioned, genteel setting. Built in 1926, the hotel offers a variety of rooms, great location, and fine service. It's also attached to an excellent restaurant, Quince. The "lobby," such as it is, is a small room with windows, a small bar, and a great fireplace. Some rooms allow pets!

Room Tip: The suites include a full kitchen and sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in their studio suite and was immediately impressed by the decor. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. It was gorgeous, spacious, fully stocked in kitchen utensils (included wine glasses and an opener), and had a dining area. Big pluses on the walk-in closet, the water pressure, and the sleek tv with built-in DVD player. My only complaints were that it was slightly out of my price range and that the rooms weren't soundproofed. I could hear tv's in other rooms. But if I want a luxurious hotel away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Chicago, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for sharing your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
We believe your positive words go an extremely long way, and appreciate you mentioning our spacious accommodations and the overall pleasantries of your recent visit.

Our suites, like the one you stayed in, often accommodate traveling business professionals, professors, and guests who need a place to call home for slightly longer than a typical overnight visit. We believe it’s important to provide as many of the conveniences of “home” as possible; we appreciate you noticing!

We look forward to welcoming your return upon your next visit to Evanston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My one-bedroom suite was huge and very well appointed with a full kitchen, small breakfast nook, plenty of closets, and a very comfortable bed. The old inn is carefully maintained and super clean. Free internet, free parking, decent and ample free breakfast. Very friendly staff. Very comfortable and convenient place to stay when visiting NU or downtown Evanston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks for the rave review!
We appreciate you mentioning our well-appointed suites, comfortable accommodations, and the wonderful team that takes care of The Homestead!

Fun fact:
Did you know that many of The Homestead team members have been caring for this property for over 10 years? Examples include our General Manager, Groundskeeper, Head of Housekeeping, Front Office Manager, as well as some of the housekeeping and maintenance team. If you notice the deep commitment to this property and the cohesion of our team…this is why. We love it here as much as you do!

Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1625 Hinman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Homestead 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homestead is a historical hotel, ideally nestled on a residential street just two blocks from both Northwestern University as well as the sandy shores of Lake Michigan. Just a five minute stroll to lively downtown Evanston, we provide our guests with inviting and comfortable accommodations in an appealing, European atmosphere. Each of our ninety guestrooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartment suites have been individually adorned with traditional decor, guaranteeing every guest a unique experience in charming and gracious surroundings. Complimentary continental breakfast, wireless internet, and garage parking are included with each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Evanston
Homestead Hotel Evanston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.