We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforting atmosphere for a chain restaurant/bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Louie Evanston

Bar Louie Evanston
1520 Sherman Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-4407
847-733-8300
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 235 Restaurants in Evanston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comforting atmosphere for a chain restaurant/bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It is your typical Bar Louie. The atmosphere is good and the prices are standard. It lacks character and some waitresses are better than others. Service can be slow at times as it is a large student hang out. Their weekly specials are a draw and the location is decent.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Average bar food in Evanston.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We found ourselves in Evanston on Memorial Day and needed some food before driving home. We had good memories of Bar Louie from a Northwestern football Saturday last year. On this trip, though, it was just OK.

We were there around 6:00 pm. The place had plenty of seating available and we took a seat wherever we wanted. We started with the chips and salsa which also came with guacamole and queso. It was fine. My wife ordered the chicken quesadillas, they were fine. She liked that it didn't have any extra veggies like onions or peppers inside. It was served with sour cream and quacamole. I had the fried chicken sandwich, buffalo style. It was overcooked. The fries are excellent.

The cost was not bad considering it was technically "happy hour" so we got the chips and the quesadilla for half price.

Overall though, this is very average bar food. We were happy with the service though. It probably helped that it wasn't very busy. We liked that it had some games on the TVs and some music playing. But you can tell this place gets worked over by the late night crowd. It has a little bit of that day old beer smell when you first walk in.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Too much fried food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

A good place if you want a noisy bar with lots of fried bar food. Mediocre food and service.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Bar in Downtown Evanston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

You'll find an eclectic and energetic crowd at Bar Louie on most nights. Televisions are tuned to sports, but they are muted so you can hear the great music that plays on the sound system. The menu is extensive, and probably a bit ambitious for a place this size. Stick to the basics and you'll be fine.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I don't really want to get into it...but we sat outside. Basically it took 2 hours to get a bite to eat. Food was bad and the server was a complete nightmare. We've never done this, but my wife and I asked to speak w/ the manager. He did give us our food for free as both of our entrees were messed up. It was very bad.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Louie Evanston also viewed

 

Been to Bar Louie Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Louie Evanston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.