We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homestyle Italian value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dave's Italian Kitchen

Dave's Italian Kitchen
1635 Chicago Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-4504
847-864-6000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 235 Restaurants in Evanston
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“homestyle Italian value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Not your place for Italian haute cuisine, but an excellent choice for down home southern Italian standbys. Large portions of tasty well prepared pasta dishes, pizza, etc. Service is prompt and friendly. You won't leave hungry.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    13
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CLASSIC CHOICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

i would have thought that dave's italian kitchen was just another mom and pop's greasy italio-american gig. On a closer look, having lived as a local for three years now, there are some good options on the extensive menu for more healthy eaters. i love the brown rice risotto with purple kale, and the italian house salad. Pasta is made fresh, and they offer whole wheat versions. It seems odd that you take a lack luster staircase down to a basement level... but after walking in, you can see that both the staff and clientele really care about this place. It has good vibes. Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have been going to Dave's Italian Restaurant since 1990 when it was in the older building. We are a combined family of 7 @, with 5 school aged children. Every one of our children asks to go to Dave's for their birthday or special occasions. We drive 40 minutes to eat at Dave's because we know we will get great service and awesome food at unbelievable prices! The tomato sauce is very sweet, and we love it. We cannot believe it but we can feed all 7 of us, get a bottle of wine, get dessert for all 7, and walk out having paid anywhere between $115-$125 total! I do not know anywhere else you can take a family of 7 for dinner and get a bottle of wine for that amount! We love it! It is all about creating memories with your family so I can pretty much guarantee our kids will carry on the tradition as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Italian Dining in a very casual place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife an I have been here several times over the last two years. Each time, we have enjoyed this place very much. While their entire menu looks great, we have tried several pasta dishes. My wife likes their spaghetti carbonara and I have had their veal marsalla,. Both are excellent. The service is always friendly and efficient. Their wine list has something for everyone. Don't know many places where you can get a nice bottle of Malbec for $19 to enjoy with your dinner. While parking can be a challenge, it is available close by. Definitely recommend this place. We will be returning more often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun, Good and Inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was in Evanston on business and my colleague suggested Dave's. On a Friday night, it was busy, fun, family oriented, unpretentious. Good basic Italian & generous wine pours. I'd go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Dave's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave's Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.