We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and loud atmosphere, great tasting food, unfortunately arrogant manager” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Found

Found
1631 Chicago Avenue, Evanston, IL
(847) 868-8945
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Found is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 210 Restaurants in Evanston
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun and loud atmosphere, great tasting food, unfortunately arrogant manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We brought our company of 10 employees out to dinner as a celebration for their work. We enjoyed our well made cocktail, solid wine selection and atmosphere. Feels homey, although very crowded on this weekday evening. Bar crowd overflowed into diners (read:rear-ends near plates), food was very tasty, and portion are very small. They are trying hard. Overall positive experience so far, and we paid the check. We were told when we sat down that they add tip for our size of party. I was in conversation when the bill came and read what I thought was a line item for tip added, so I added enough to make this a 30% tip. However, the manager came over and loudly asked in front of my company "Was there something wrong with your service causing you to tip so poorly?" Turns out the service charge line was a separate beverage line! This was my honest mistake, which did not justify the embarrassing treatment. Interestingly the amount I rounded up was still 15% on its own. Correcting my mistake, I still tipped 30% on a $700 bill, but be warned: tip very well or you will be called out, loudly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    56
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Found is a Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Chicago is a city rich in restaurants, but the offerings thin out and become generic beyond the city limits proper. There are notable exceptions, however, and "Found" is an exception. Farm to table; a supporting list of fine wines and cocktails; and a staff that works hard to deliver knowledgeable service to diners are among the strengths of this restaurant. Small plates and larger entrees give the menu added character. A great place to go for a romantic occasion, a special event, or just because you aren't up to cooking, Found is a find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One word for Found kitchen is flavor. The dishes are large but meant to be shared. I enjoyed the meal start to finish. The decor is cool and comfy. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“evanston finally found it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

having been in evanston for three years now, there is finally a type of place that you care to really be in... a fun, chic and different than the average restaurant kinda joint. It has a celebration kind of feel and knowledge staff. You can lounge but no feel like you're in a dusty old cafe. It is upbeat but easy going. great food and drink. top notch. not just for special occasions. got to go again myself, and soon!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy, cool atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've been to Found twice and enjoyed it very much both times. We arrived earlier...when dinner starts and had no problem getting a table. Busier times will involve a wait! The seating is really neat...coffee tables with books, couches, leather chairs, all warm and inviting conversation. There is standard table seating also for people having dinner. There is outdoor seating and open windows near the front. The service is excellent...very knowledgeable and friendly staff. The food is creative and tasty, except for the flatbread..it was boring. Orders come to the table as it becomes ready, not all at once. The drinks are the absolute best. If you like bourbon...try the Chartreuse and Herb Smash...a perfect cocktail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Found also viewed

 

Been to Found? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Found, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.