We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creperie Saint Germain

Creperie Saint Germain
1512 Sherman Ave, Evanston, IL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hubby and I enjoyed our evening at Creperie Saint Germain. It is a small, yet quaint spot that really feels like you've entered a Parisian cafe. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful from the beginning. We bought a deal on Amazon Local which came with an appetizer, two entrees, a dessert, and a bottle of wine. I have to say, the savory crepes really were a surprise delight. I especially loved the Coq au Vin, sooo good! And the marquis for dessert? Incredibly yummy. All of this deliciousness, plus a chilled bottle of white wine, and kind service really made this place wonderful for a date night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You won't have anything left on your plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Blind date stood you up? What better place to dine in this cozy establishment thinking...'cest la vie..his loss.'

Regardless, the staff is very friendly and the owner was very gracious as I told him that I would be dining solo...'yes, his loss indeed! 'He said.

I ordered the crepe with chicken, butternut squash, turnip, and caramelized onions that came with a perfectly dressed salad. It was demolished..not a crumb left on the plate.Ordered the blueberry crepe with marscapone and blackberry compote. Absolutely delicious. Definitely going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVANSTON
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Feels like you're in Europe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The buckwheat and wheat crepes are very light and very tasty. Everythng is a la carte but the prices are reasonable. The service is excellent. We had a house red wine which was fine.
The "Lake Perch in brown butter sauce" is not on the menu, but if you like perch, it was great! The choice of crepes are interesting and yes, there are vegetarian selections. Dessert was the "Normande" crepe - carmelized apple compote, cinnamon chantilly, and walnuts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have eaten in St. Germain creperie around half a dozen times since it opened, so I obviously like it a lot. I found that in the beginning they had some issues that had to with being a new place, so I waited with this review until they settle in.

Overall, the place is great. The ambiance is nice (it's small and bistro-like; it's romantic enough for couples, but works for a business meeting or casual dining, too), and most of their crepes are delicious. I would suggest that you skip the appetizers (although I tried the terrine and the snails, and both are very nice) and go straight for the crepes, a savory and a sweet one will stuff you amply. (The savory crepes are large, it's a proper entree.) I love that they use different crepes for the savory and the sweet dishes. It seems obvious, but I've been to other crepe places that didn't bother.

My recommendations: the salmon crepe is fantastic, and so is the short rib one. The best vegetarian option is probably the provencale. From the dessert crepes I recommend the fig one and the suzette.

At the time of writing they have a very good deal on Tuesdays, the savory crepes are at practically half price. It's an inexpensive place even otherwise, but on Tuesdays you can't eat anything this good anywhere in Evanston for this price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A true find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Loved this place with great food and a charming atmosphere
They have a giant map of the Parisian metro on the wall and a great patio in the summer

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creperie Saint Germain also viewed

 

Been to Creperie Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creperie Saint Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.