I stayed here for 6 nights in the end of December. To start off with, not sure how the previous review says free parking. I was charged $13/day to use the parking garage right next to the hotel. What was confusing is parking was free in the garage on the weekend I was there, but still was charged for parking. The person at the front tried to explain why it made sense but I still don't get it. I stayed in Hilton a couple blocks away earlier in the month so only have that to compare it with in Evanston. The Garden Inn had bigger bathrooms where I think the overall feel of the Hilton on Orrington was much nicer. Although, they are doing renovations at Garden Inn, but unfortunately the room I was in had not been renovated it yet, they were still on top two floors. I thought the walls were pretty thin and constantly heard loud noises throughout the night in hallways and adjacent rooms.
I give it 3 stars because most everyone at front desk was pleasant, the hot tub was nice to use on a few nights, and the bathrooms were bigger than the tiny ones at the other Hilton in Evanston. The cookies at night were a nice touch as well.
Overall, I would probably give the Hilton another shot to see if they had any sound issues that I didn't experience the first time around. I only stayed there one night in comparison to 6 nights at Garden Inn so I had more time there to see more of the flaws.
Overall, an ok stay, but too many issues to give 4 stars.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I was happy to read from your review that you found our staff to be pleasant. Our main priority is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay with us. I do however understand that you were disappointed in some areas.
Report response as inappropriate
As you could tell we are currently going through renovations and I sincerely apologize if we caused you any inconveniences. In addition, I apologize if you were inconvenienced by the parking charges. I can assure you that your comments are incredibly important to us and I will definitely take them into consideration to improve our guests’ experience.
Again, please accept my apologies and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.