We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, would definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mannings Heath Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mannings Heath Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mannings Heath Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Winterpit Lane, Mannings Heath RH13 6LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, would definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed here for one night whilst on my way back home (in the north) after a delayed flight to Gatwick. When I phoned late in the evening to check availability they were helpful and luckily had enough rooms for us.

When we arrived we were greeted in a friendly way and promptly given our room keys, as it was late this was welcome.

Knowing little about the hotel prior to arrival I was pleased to find that my room was clean, tidy and spacious.
The room had digital TV, a standard sized kettle with cups for tea, coffee and hot chocolate and milk etc. There was a new magazine that was a guide to the surrounding area. The shower room was small but perfectly formed and had toiletries and towels. The shower worked very well.

In the morning breakfast was served at the rear of the building, in the dining room that overlooked the large outdoor patio, garden and lake. I imagine it would be very nice sat out there on a summer’s morning. Breakfast consisted of either your choice of cereal or a freshly prepared cooked breakfast of your choosing; and believe me there was plenty to choose from.

I would definitely return to this country hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to choose to stay here if I was in the area again, and hopefully the next time I’d stay for longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
7
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Hotel is very nicely located, service good and mostly very clean.

However, room was tiny, laptop had to perch on windowsill, and shower head looked like new lifeforms were evolving on it.

Food was OK but very expensive compared to other hotels I have used locally.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed here for one night for a friend's wedding. It is a lovely hotel. We had a nice room in the annex which was comfortable. The food was good and the surrondings are lovely. Our room looked out on the duck pond at the front and a field with a horse at the back. Only suggestions for improvement would be to put up some net curtains in the room so you have more privacy and to add sausages to the breakfast menu!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010 via mobile

Excellent value for money, friendly staff. Being very tall sometimes have found hotel beds too small however these were very comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep. The breakfast was freshly cook and of excellent quality.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010 via mobile

I've had the pleasure of being a regular guest of this hotel for many years. 

And a pleasure it truly is.

The grounds and location are stunning. Bring your golf clubs; there's no better way of making the transition from a stressful day of work or travel to a thoroughly relaxing evening of good hearted banter in the bar.

The staff will do everything possible to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Nothing's perfect in this world but they will always look to go the extra mile to try to make it so.  They're a warm, cheery bunch who work hard and are adept at delivering a quality service; wether your style is one of formality or is more easygoing in nature, of quiet solitude or strident fraternisation.

The food is great, similarly the bar is a great place to be, as is the lounge - particularly if you like the idea of loafing on a comfy couch, dinner on a tray, pint or glass of wine in hand, football on the box and a huge open fire blazing away. Happy days!

A small number of the rooms are small, but you're always advised on booking. All are always clean and tidy and anyway, bedrooms are only for sleeping in and I'm reliably informed size doesn't matter!

I'm biased. I know that. I've been going there for years so am bound to be positive. But that's the point isn't it.... I wouldn't have been a regular guest all these years if it was rubbish, would I?  And I'm pretty sure the countless other regulars are of a similar mind.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I chose to have my wedding at the mannings heath after looking all other options in horsham i looked around and straight away the location struck me the golf course is so stunning and the perfect back drop for my wedding.
.I was taken around and loved the room where you have your wedding breakfast its a lovely sized room and is so light and airy compared to some that i looked at.I meet the wedding organiser who was lovely and as i began talking to her experienced shined and there wasn't anything she didn't know about weddings.From that moment on everything was organised.I then went for a tasting of the food we discussed what we wanted with the chef the hotel is very flexiable on food and offers every option possible to get a menu that is suited to you i was so pleased with the choice,i decided on what i wanted and was so pleased on the day the food was amazing and everyone commented on it.
My stay at the hotel was lovely the bridal suite is a lovely room and the four poster bed is lovely( perfect for wedding pictures and is a brill place to hang your wedding dress for pictures).
The other guests that stayed commented that they had a lovely relaxing stay .
Overall i think the hotel is a amazing place to have a wedding and i would recommend it to any one all my guests loved it and the golf course (some even turned up eary to have a sneaky round of golf before the wedding).
Am so pleased and will never forget my special day would love to thank all the staff at the mannings heath hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

My room should be named 'The Cobweb Room', they were everywhere. Everything about this hotel is worn and shabby. The bedroom carpet was worn and threadbare.
There is a lack of investment in every area.
On the plus side it is away from it all and very quiet.
Breakfast was really poor.
It's about time the owners paid a visit to The Springfields Hotel in Horsham to see how it should be done. I couldn't get in as it was fully booked!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mannings Heath hotels

Been to The Mannings Heath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mannings Heath Hotel

Address: Winterpit Lane, Mannings Heath RH13 6LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Mannings Heath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mannings Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mannings Heath Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Mannings Heath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mannings Heath Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.