We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very viable low-cost option in Bermuda” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brightside Guest Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flatts Village
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brightside Guest Apartments
Save
You added Brightside Guest Apartments to your Saves list
38 Northshore Road | Flatts Village, Flatts Village FL 07, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flatts Village
Chicago
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A very viable low-cost option in Bermuda”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Doing Bermuda on a budget is somewhat an oxymoron. However, if you’re looking for areas to pinch, the Brightside Apartments is a good option. We did $150/night over Memorial Day weekend. They give you a bed to sleep-in, a lock on your door, running hot water, AC, WiFi, and a pool. It’s steps away from three bus routes (3, 10, and 11), allowing you to get to Hamilton in around 10 minutes, airport around 10 minutes, and St. George in about 20 minutes. There’s a post office and a small convenient store around the corner with liberal hours (6am-midnight), and a couple of restaurants up the street. Shelly beach is the closest beach which is 3 stops away via bus or a rather long -but doable- walk.

That said, you’ll notice that I used very few adjectives (good or bad) so far. It’s clean, but think of it as college-dorm-room-clean. I’m quite certain a bathroom at the Fairmont will blind you with its cleanliness, not so here. You’ll get clean towels and sheets daily, but don’t be surprised if the towels are a little frayed, and the bed’s not the softest you’ve been in. We had an adjoining room, and the door might as well not have been there, as you could hear them brushing their teeth, the wall/door were so thin. Also, its convenience comes with a trade-off, as our room (near the front of the property) could easily hear all of the traffic going by. Fortunately, traffic is non-existent at night, so it really wasn’t a problem, but that might be an important aspect if you’re a light sleeper.

For my wife and me, who just needed a place to sleep and shower, it worked very well as jumping-off point each day to explore the island which we mostly did by bus. Buses run every 15 minutes Mon-Sat. We definitely would recommend it to those who just need the basics or traveling on a budget. We would not recommend it to those looking to indulge or for a beach-side property.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

My husband and I have traveled a lot and are not fussy people. We don't need a lot of bells and whistles to be content in a hotel. But we both were left feeling disappointed by our experience at Brightside. It has so much potential for being one of the few affordable backpacker-style hotels in Bermuda, but unfortunately it falls tremendously short.

The room was reasonably clean, but featured much fewer amenities than we'd expected in an "apartment". Our room in the 'Annex' building close to the road only had a dorm-sized fridge and microwave. No coffee pot, no toaster oven, few dishes and utensils and no where to wash your dishes except the bathroom sink.

Another big problem with the room was street noise. The hotel is situated right at the major intersection in Flatts with traffic zipping by in a continous stream all day. If we had done it over again we would've asked to have been moved to a quieter room near the pool/garden area. We were there in the off-season, though, so it's possible that the only rooms available were those handful in the Annex buildind near the road. Curiously, the hotel propertiers put another party in the room directly next to us (and we were the only two patrons in the whole complex!) This was another annoyance because we had to hear their TV all night through the paper thin walls.

On a brighter note, the hotel owner and maid were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The location in the middle of the island cannot be beat and there was easy access to bus stops and two great restaurants down the street. The gardens on the property were gorgeous and well kept.

Given older reviews on TripAdvisor and our general observations of the place it seems like the Brightside used to be a better place to stay, but has fallen into disrepair in recent years. If your main concern is finding a cheap place to stay on the island and you don't mind some noise and don't require many creature comforts, then the Brightside would be fine. But it seems likely that for not much more per night you could find better accomodations on the island...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Brightside (with the emphasis on the 'bright' paintwork) has its decor stuck firmly in the 80s. However the studio apartment we had was well equipped, spotlessly clean with a wonderful daily maid service and is in a good location. Would recommend it as a base for exploring beautiful Bermuda. We just shower, eat breakfast and go out for the whole day so it was perfect for us. Good value for money but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

The Brightside Guest Apartments are very nice. Located in Flatts, Bermuda, they are right at a central point of the island, and a nice spot. The marina and Flatts Bridge are always bustling with people and boats, and provide very nice views from the apartments. The apartments all have (shared) verandas, with nice wicker chairs outside. We stayed in a top floor room, it was a one bedroom suite. We had a main living room area which had a couch, TV, table with 4 chairs, and a coffee table. There was a large bathroom, and a small kitchen with a large refrigerator, several cabinets with dishes and glasses and silverware in them, a stove, a microwave, and a coffeepot. There was a separate bedroom with a double bed, dresser, and closet. The place was generally clean, however, there were some small things that could have easily been fixed and/or enhanced, that would have made this place much better, in my opinion (e.g. handles on dresser drawers broken, dresser drawers cleaned/lined, matching silverware/dishes/glasses, updated paintings on the wall). The owners are a delight- Mr. Lightbourne is always checking up on you whenever you see him- and he or someone in his family is always around- and is so nice and answers all questions... like everyone else on Bermuda, just a joy to talk to. All in all, the place was nowhere near a luxury hotel that you will find in Bermuda, but for a newlywed couple who would have been happy sleeping on the beach for a low price, this did the trick! We would stay again. Also, there is a new building being constructed behind our building that looked very nice- lots of little verandas, a bright color, and right over the pool.

  • Liked — The owners are very nice, daily maid service, and the location is very pretty.
  • Disliked — The room was outdated and could have been cleaner.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

Please do not stay at Brightside!! When you pull up the outside is beautiful but please dont be fooled by that.

Once I got in my room, there were dirty towles in my bathroom and urine on the toilet. The kitchen area was nasty the coffee pot had mold in it. The microwave was filled with old food and the tables, curtains and lamps were dusty!!!

I pulled my covers back to examine the sheets and there was hair, grit , dirt and God knows what else on the sheets. And there was makeup on the pillows which were not covered in pillow cases!!!!!

I was furious. Dont get me wrong the older guy that runs the place and his wife were sweet but the sweetness mean nothing when the room is unsanitary. And don't even think about getting in contact with someone after about 6. I called and called and called and rang the bell and rang the bell and nobody showed up.

THE ISLAND IS BEAUTIFUL , I enjoyed the beach the shopping and the wonderful food but the hotel was NASTY, DUSTY AND PLAN OLD UNSANITARY!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flatts Village hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

For those of you out there who appreciate genuine hospitality the Brightside is a great example. Built on pride that has spanned generations there, the ownership welcomed us with open arms. Although some may find it basic (for Bermuda), we felt very comfortable. The location is prime, and the sunsets over the Flatts Inlet from the terrace were those of postcards! Within the area one can find beaches (of course!), the aquarium, restaurants and other ammenities. I know I will return...and so will you!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brightside Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightside Guest Apartments

Address: 38 Northshore Road | Flatts Village, Flatts Village FL 07, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Smith's Parish > Flatts Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flatts Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of picturesque Flatts Village at the eastern end of Bermuda, Brightside with its informal atmosphere, is a great place, if you are looking for a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brightside Guest Apartments Hotel Smith`s
Brightside Guest Apartments Smiths
Brightside Guest Apartments Bermuda/Flatts Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brightside Guest Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.