We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunedin Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dunedin Country House to your Saves list
Dunedin Country House
40 Westgate, Patrington HU12 0NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Patrington B&B and Inns
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I am still a bit stunned that a fantastic B&B exists slightly of the beaten track. I stayed here one night in May 2013 and what a lovely place. I was in the 'Golden Room' which was excellent, warm, comfortable with everything I needed. Helen was a very good host and the breakfast was superb! I hate staying at Hotels and this is one of the best B&B's I have been to, I will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Close to the town centre and on the main road but although I stayed in the front it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall is an excellent place to stay. Very clean, warm and spacious room. Simon & Helen offer a very welcoming service, as I wasn't able to attend the hot breakfast due to an early start at work, I received a packed breakfast. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, lovingly restored house with no expense spared. Stayed in the pink room, spacious bedroom and bathroom with a roll top bath & shower. Lovely little touches, toiletries, chocolates, fresh coffee and bottles of water, music & a nice full breakfast too. The owners went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The village has a couple of nice pubs and the Railway restaurant serves nice meals. Thoroughly recommended & a credit to the owners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé visited here with another couple and their baby. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a very warm welcome. Throughout our stay the staff could not do enough for us, they were excellent. In particular they were extremely understanding of the needs of our friends with their baby. The rooms are beautifully decorated, well appointed and most importantly immaculately clean. All in all it was a fantastic stay and we will definitely be going back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I took my mum here for the Mothers Day 4 course champagne extravaganza and all I can say is I had one very chilled out, relaxed Mum by the end of it! She had had a really stressful time recently and this was just what she needed. The food was only half of the experience; the whole ambiance of the place is just so tranquil and beautiful and Helen and Simon and staff could not have made it a more relaxed, welcoming and wonderful experience. Four courses, preceeded with champagne and canapes to begin with in the bar £25 pp. Exceptional value. Bar prices were very very reasonable with a large glass of wine at £2.60, and diet coke at £1.20.Next time we are booking a room!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All of the 4 rooms on the net look beautiful but I think I would pick the one with the balcony to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having tried for some time to find suitable accomodation for my team in the Hull area I chanced upon Helen and the Dunedin Country House and I'm very glad i did.

Helen has been an absolutely fantastic host looking after my colleagues every need.

If you're on business in the area and looking for a home away from home then Dunedin is most definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Dunedin house for 3 nights in November 2012. The house has been lovingly restored and our room (the Pink Room), which was spotlessly clean, was no exception with every little detail considered. We loved the cast iron bath, the huge shower and the bed which was extremely comfortable - some of the best few nights sleep we've had! Helen was a brilliant host and her vegetarian breakfasts deserve a mention in particular - we were so well catered for, we couldn't have asked for more! There are some lovely places around here to visit and Helen was very informative about the local area - we spent days out in Beverley and at Spurn Point, both of which are well worth a visit and were greeted by a cosy log fire on our return, which was a great touch.
Dunedin House was like a home away from home and we would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunedin Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Country House

Address: 40 Westgate, Patrington HU12 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Patrington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Patrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunedin Country House. We offer you the warmest welcome; come and discover a hidden jewel of Holderness. Our family owned and run business is dedicated to offering you the very best experience. Set in beautifully landscaped gardens, Dunedin Country House is the perfect venue for that country break. All our bedrooms are en-suite and each is unique in character and furnished to the highest standard. Our function rooms have beautiful fireplaces to laze away the winter afternoons, teamed with original features and amazing views over the lawned Victorian garden and across the fields to the River Humber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dunedin Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunedin Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.