We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total excellence, concept,beauty, location, service at a very reasonable price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gajah Mina Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gajah Mina Beach Resort to your Saves list
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Suraberata, Lalanglingah Banjar Pengasahan, Selemadeg, Bali 08361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Selemadeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denpasar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Total excellence, concept,beauty, location, service at a very reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Gajah Minah is in a stunning location with its own private beach with bungalows arranged in a beautiful valley which spills down to the ocean.
The bungalows are individual and private and each has its own unique personality tastefully designed and executed with ocean views.Delightfully arranged on the site.
There is a beautiful cafe and pool area which is surrounded by coconut trees and is only a few metres to the private beach which also has a very interesting cave well worth exploring on the waters edge.
Service is excellent without interfering with the quiet privacy of the whole resort.
Food is great as well which is presented with the French influence of the host Dominique.Fantastic experience and value just over an hour from the airport.

Recommended to me by a long term resident of Bali.My son and his partner went before me and came back with glowing reports and Gajah Minah surpassed my already high expectations when I went a few weeks later.

I will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucolivier, Director of Sales at Gajah Mina Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for you kind and positive review. We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed their stay at Gajah Mina Resort. We hope to see you again in our Resort.
Kind regards
Yaning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    39
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
74
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We were recommended this intimate resort by a friend, and we can most definitely say we shall return on our next visit to Bali.
If it is peace, quiet and seclusion you are after, than this place it ideal. There are only a couple of warungs nearby at other small surf accommodation, so be warned, there is little to do (unless you plan day trip activities etc)
We stayed in a standard villa for 5 nights - beautifully furnished with private outdoor shower, and then swapped over to honeymoon villa (room 10) for our last 2 nights, which was devine. The views are simply breathtaking.
Food was absolutely delicious and inexpensive - Staff - wonderfully friendly.
Cannot fault this place, and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

i had booked a week with my wife at gajah mina on the advice of a friend and was horrified to read esparki's extremely negative review on TripAdvisor. however, by then, it was too late to cancel so i thought "damn the torpedoes", i'll just see how it turns out . the beginning seemed promising, with an air-conditioned hotel van waiting for us at den pasar airport. it was a long drive to get to the hotel but one made highly agreeable by the driver's frequent stops for our refreshment.
on our arrival, we were welcomed by the manager/owner dominique, a charming frenchman, who looks a little like robert downey junior gone to seed. he told us we were to be in number 9...and immediately red lights started to flash- esparki hadn't liked it! imagine then our total astonishment to find a beautiful wooden villa with its own private garden, within the landscaped hotel grounds. set on a promontory, you look out over the cliffs and sea and feel like a sea captain on the deck of your ship (but with aircon and a well-stocked fridge and no swell!) absolutely amazing.
we had very mixed weather during our stay- heat, rain and high winds- but no problems from leaks or bugs. spray the room before dinner and bob's your uncle- no worries.
i found the hotel restaurant exceptional. the cook- bagus- showed me his sambal recipe in an international cookbook and explained, via the owner, how flash-freezing the squid and mahi-mahi before cooking improved their flavour. my wife & i worked our way through the menu and found it impossible to disagree.
when the weather cleared, we went mountain-biking the easy way- hotel van to the top of the nearby mountain and then freewheel down, stopping off at tiny hamlets to buy cloves and sip balinese cofee with the locals. a minor incident with a dog had me on the ground and worried about my tennis elbow. i don't know where gajah mina get their masseuses from, but mine manged not only to prevent bruising but also to completely fix my elbow (ok it took 3 sessions, but who's counting?)
this is a great hotel to come to with your wife or girlfriend (if you get along). lounge by the pool, sip cocktails, walk on the beach and through the paddy fields, see the bats shoot out of the caves at dusk and dine to your heart's content in the balmy tropical evenings.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We already spent half a year of our Life (2x 1 month a Year) in that amazing Place. After 5-6 Month of European sustained Business Stress, it's the probably one of the best Place in the World to relax and to find back to Life Quality.This is Bali at his best.
The Property is perfectly embedded within the original untouched nature, surrounded by rice Fields, with its own little Private Beach, a great Pool and a beautiful Garden.

We stayed in every Villa including the two new ones at the top of the Cliff where you feel like a Bird in the Sky. The same applies for the new SPA even closer on the top of the Ocean. The view from there while enjoying great Treatments and Massages is simply amazing, as well as the Sunsets. No words to describe the real Feelings and Atmosphere, it has to be lived !!!
The Owner and his Family, as well as the whole Staff are more than lovely and I would name all of them "Friends". Everyone would go extra-miles to get you 100% satisfied.
The Food is of such good quality and freshness, that we never had to get elsewhere during each of our past monthly journeys. On top of that any special food wish gets honored by the Kitchen, simply ask...

Overall,its just a unique wonderful experience and we know of no other better place in the World where you get so much value for so little money...
We can only highly recommend it, and we will get back there over and over for many Years to come.
What hurts really the most, is when the Dream ends and you have to leave to fly back home :-(

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We've been traveling for a month around Bali and were looking for a serene small non-chain resort off the beaten tourist track to relax for the last week. Gajahmina seemed to be the right place.
At first sight everything looked just perfect: beautiful rooms, nicely decorated, picturesque rural surroundings, unspoiled nature...
The first night we spent fighting heat and insects because it turned out that the aircon doesnt work and the front doors dont exactly border each other. In the morning we had to change the room. The next night I started to feel nausea after having had a dinner in the hotel restaurant. In the morning I already had fever and as well as all other signs of poisoning. Having taken all kinds of pills I had with me I felt it is more serious than I've expected and we had to call for a doctor. Next day I felt worse and we went to another doctor to the village. In 4 days we had to go to BIMS hospital in Kuta and it turned out I had a stomach bacterial infection.

Now to describe hotel facilities:

Reception and Management

There is no reception and it takes time to find out whom you can turn to in case you need something. Nina, the manager, is a very nice girl but hardly speaks English and cannot take any decision without talking to "Mister Dominick", who is actually the owner whom we have never seen. Being infected I have never received any excuse or proposal to help which is at least ridiculous. Generally we had the feeling there is no management and the owner cares about nothing.

Restaurant

Has an extensive menu which is useless because there is nothing fresh. All these sophisticated dishes are described nicely but have very poor implementation. Maybe the reason for this is the low season when we happened to visit this place but considering poor management I doubt they have fresh food even at 100% occupancy. Having no fresh fish by the seaside is strange. Vegetables served also seemed to be previously frozen. Breakfast with homemade bread and jam is the only nice venue in this weird restaurant.

Rooms

The cheapest standard rooms are the best in terms of location and architecture. No 9 is nice but looks old and has a bathroom you should travel through the common areas which is not really convenient. Honeymoon villas are nicely decorated inside but are torn apart by 7 winds in the rain season and are located on the way to SPA with no privacy being observed from all 4 sides.

SPA

Weird. I mean, the idea of lying and being massaged on the top of the cliff listening to the ocean is great but implementation... In the rain season this SPA is useless because the winds on cliff are very strong and if the rain starts...Me and my husband were lying there experiencing one of the worst massages on Bali and the only thought coming to my mind was that next minute this small and light house will be blown off to the ocean: walls trembling, water flowing through the closed doors and windows. I strongly recommend to build another decent SPA center (and also hire qualified masseurs) and leave the existing one as a filial for the nice summer weather.

Service

I just want to mention here mostly all staff members are nice and truly wish to help you. We have never faced ignorance or unwillingness to help. The only problem was their inability to understand and speak English. My husband had to use all the dialects, body language and all the rest means of communication to make them understand what we wanted, like in a tribal community.

Nature

This is the only and very strong asset of this resort. It is really there - true unspoiled rural Bali with rice fields, beautiful beaches, all these birds around you singing all day long, beautiful gardens, trees, flowers! If you dont care about service and have a firm stomach I still recommend you to have this experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We booked the Honeymoon cottage based on reviews in Trip Advisor and are delighted that we did. Stargazing from our balcony, looking down in the morning at the sea, and ample interior space made this a perfect choice. The food and service were not as perfect as we might like, however.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Gajah Mina is located in a remote part of Southwest coastal Bali. It is about a 2.5 hour drive from Denpasar along a road frequented by large and slow-moving trucks. The resort itself is located about a half-mile off the main road down a small winding dirt road to the beach. It is set among a coconut plantation/cow pasture and rice fields. The resort itself is remarkably spatious, considering that it consists of only 10 cottages. For example, from the honeymoon suite, it is a 5-minute hike to get to the restaurant, which includes a sketch bamboo bridge crossing and about 50 steps. It's not that well lit at night, so you need to bring a flashlight (offered in room). These are all positive things actually, if you're looking to get away from the beaten path and experience some rural/beach life. However, there's not a lot else in the area, so be prepared to bring in all you will need (e.g. sunscreen, bugspray, mosquito coils, bottled water).

Positives: The setting is amazing. It is hard to beat the amazing views and beach walks available here. The pool is beautiful and lunching there while gazing out at the waves is a great thing (that is, if someone is actually staffing the pool. More on that later). The food is spectacular and affordable. This was the best food we had in Bali (except for our dinner at Mozaic). The waitstaff was great, and as noted by others, is a highlight of the hotel. The jacuzzi and bath salts provided in the honeymoon suite were great for relaxing in the evening after long walks. The staff also brought fruit salad and juice to our room in the morning, which was a nice touch (although not sure if this is a honeymoon suite thing). We also enjoyed the fully-loaded iPod in the honeymoon suite and the harman/kardon stereo it was docked to. The honeymoon suite is totally epic, although it is located on the path to the spa, and some random dude walked by as my wife and I were descending naked into the jacuzzi tub.

Negatives: The first thing you might notice upon arrival is that there is no lobby or full-time receptionist. This is a little odd for a hotel. Basically, there is a desk in the corner as you walk in the restaurant. But the waitstaff was happy to call the receptionist, and she showed up in about 10 minutes. She was friendly and told us that if we wanted to book a massage, we should call her. We were then led to our room, where we noted with some dismay that a 50-year-old woman was hauling our bags to our room. This was a bit odd and disconcerting because we were on a 3-week trip and our bags were fairly heavy. When we got to our room, there were no mosquito nets, unlike every other hotel in Bali that we stayed at. This was particularly strange given the huge number of insects in the area. Additionally, two small bottles of water were provided on the first day, but were not replenished, forcing us to raid the minibar.

We next decided to schedule a massage and called the front desk as instructed. Surprisingly, someone answered and a massage was scheduled for the next day. At the prearranged time, we went to the spa and found a semi-naked woman receiving a massage already (i.e. the spa offers no privacy). Since we were supposed to be scheduled for a massage, we returned to our room to call the receptionist. But guess what? She wasn't there, and was apparently "eating dinner" and we were told they would call us back. So we waited for nearly an hour and after no call, we finally called back. She was still eating dinner, but someone else offered to schedule a massage. No--we already had one scheduled...AN HOUR AGO. Finally, they were able to tell us that our appointment had never been made, because that slot had already been booked. But, NOONE BOTHERED TO TELL US. This experience basically sums up the service at Gajah Mina. It doesn't exist.

The hotel also arranged transport for us to the airport. As we get into the car, we attempt to put on our seatbelts. The driver responds, "no seatbelts, no problem!" "Oh really? Because flying through the windshield after a head-on collision with a coconut truck seems like a problem to me!" Given that Bali has nearly 2 fatalities a day on their roads, I recommend asking for a car with seatbelts in advance.

I would recommend this hotel for its amazing setting and rural feel, although not the honeymoon suite, which has an amazing view, but is nonetheless overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gajah Mina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gajah Mina Beach Resort

Address: Suraberata, Lalanglingah Banjar Pengasahan, Selemadeg, Bali 08361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Selemadeg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Selemadeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gajah Mina Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gajah Mina is an exclusive Bali holiday destination on the picturesque South West coast of Bali, not far from the renowned Tanah Lot temple in Tabanan. An intimate boutique hotel of ten independent vacation villas nestled among tropical gardens and scenic rice paddies.Gajah Mina overlooks its own private beach carved into the volcanic rock. The setting is spectacular, natural caves and ancient stone carvings offering romantic walks across adjacent cliff top, headlands, rice paddies, coconut groves and deserted beaches. It is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway.Each villa discreetly nestles within its own walled garden offering view across rice paddies, palm fringed gardens and the rugged Balian beach coastline. Private terraces invite you to lounge amidst the clouds and the crown of palm.Tucked in between rice fields, the 27 meters long pool is built around the shape of a rice terrace.A stroll toward the ocean lead to a small cape covered with thick alang - alang grasses, ending on a cliff from where view extend towards both end of the island. One of Gajah mina two headlands is maintained as a protected area for the Water Monitor, a timid unaggressive lizard which can grow to 1.7m in length. You can make wonderful walks on the 30 km long deserted beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Gajah Mina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gajah Mina Beach Hotel Tabanan
Gajah Mina Beach Tabanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gajah Mina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.