We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is great, but much outside Nuwara Eliya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thuruliya Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thuruliya Lodge to your Saves list
Thuruliya Lodge
Nuwara Eliya Rd, Opposite 45th KM post, Ramboda 20590, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Room is great, but much outside Nuwara Eliya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms are very spacious and good views from the balcony. The food that is served is a little costlier, but good tasty food. The bathrooms had a damp smell, mainly because of the climate, the room fresheners sprayed do not last that long.
This hotel is in Ramboda. If you have to visit Nuwara eliya, Ella, Horton Plains, this place is not ideal for stop over, as it requires a lot of driving,
We had a tough time, as we were not aware of the distances, so had to commute from Nuwara Eliya to Ramboda, back to Nuwara Eliya to go to Horton plains, and again back to Ramboda through Nuwara Eliya for the sleep over.
The location is brilliant, no complaints about it, but if Nuwara Eliya is the planned place to visit, think twice, or be ready to commute for atleast 45 mins each way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

By chance our driver brought us to this beautiful hotel overlooking waterfalls and a huge valley after we had rejected staying at "The Log". It was the highlight of our 5 day trip to Sri Lanka. It was almost a picture perfect stay - where our room opened out to a waterfall on our left and the main view of the valley below. The owner who is a forestry officer, had combined aesthetic and natural surroundings for his small but immensely luxurious hotel. We had excellent service, meals cooked by the owner's wife specially for us at USD5.per person for each breakfast, lunch and dinner. The authentic Sri Lankan cooking was superb. We enjoyed every moment of stay here and recommend anyone, young or elderly to stay here.

Room Tip: Go before the price goes up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place after long trip! New clean rooms, friendly stuff, perfect view, nice small balcony where you may enjoy watching stars and hearing waterfalls. If you came by bike it may be a bit hard to get it down. I booked only 1 night and was really upset that didn't decide to stay here longer. You also may walk around and see waterfalls.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We really, really enjoyed our time at Thuruliya Lodge. Considering the price, it's exceptional value.

1. Very clean and spacious room, with outdoor patio. We stayed in room 104 which literally has an entire wall of windows with the most beautiful views I've ever seen (room is located on the corner). Aim for that room as the other rooms only have a frontal view.
2. The view is truly amazing. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I can't stress this enough.
3. The hotel staff (two young men) are exceptional. They're kind, attentive and answer any questions that arise. Both speak English quite well, but one of them is almost fluent.
4. There are a couple of different hikes in the area, so it's easy to stay at the lodge (and stay busy) for two full days.

Something to note though, this hotel is still undergoing construction (the top two floors are literally only cement beams). So from the outside it doesn't look so attractive - step into the rooms and you'll be happy though!

Great, great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It is an ok hotel, but be sure that your day is fully booked and you just sleep and wake up here and head out again. There is very, very little to do as it is not in Nuwara Eliya itself. Our room was damp smelling, and it was clear that our sheets and pillow cases had not been dried properly. I put a scarf over my pillow to sleep on, and in the morning i had to throw the scarf in a plastic bag because it had absorbed the odor... We had the first room on the right. But hey, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: All have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a fab place! They could not be friendlier, and the view (overlooking a valley and a waterfall) are to die for. No foto could ever do justice to the gorgeous sunset we witnessed over a lovely glass of whiskey. As mentioned, the rest of the hotel is still being built (which means you eat in the reception area) but this doesn't matter and if you don't fancy eating in the reception area they are happy to set up a table in your room (which is huge). Our driver suggested this place and after seeing the view, I nearly hugged him to death. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the furthest room on the left of the building (facing the valley) and this is a stunning room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The main reason to stay here is the views - every room has huge windows that look out over the valley and it really is spectacular!

The hotel is new - to the point of being half built, this does not impact on your stay however as the ground floor and the bedrooms in use are all finished to a really high standard - it really is much nicer than we could have expected, the rooms are huge, lovely and clean, the beds are wonderfully comfortable and the service is spot on - the staff really are very friendly.

There are a few small niggles that stopped me giving them the full five star score and this is all related to the catering. The food is tasty and portion sizes are ample but I think the fact that the place is new is leading to a few issues an challengea and as there is very little else by way of eateries near by you really do need to use their catering services:

- They serve food but have no kitchen on site. All food is cooked of site and brought over so by the time it is served it was often a bit cold.

- The menu is limited - I have no issue with this but there was not one single Sri Lankan dish available as an evening meal and that is a real shame (sandwiches, Italian or Indian food only)

- Dishes are priced in US dollars rather than rupees yet you pay in rupees which is confusing?

- Breakfast options are all very expensive and enormous - our breakfast for two would have fed six people well - and at $5 a head really is on the steep side for sri lanka when we would have been happy with some tea and toast and tea was extra.

- They have set up tables in the reception area but it is a little soulless and not the nicest place to relax with an evening meal.

Once the last building work is completed - this will be an incredible place. It already is pretty wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thuruliya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thuruliya Lodge

Address: Nuwara Eliya Rd, Opposite 45th KM post, Ramboda 20590, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Ramboda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ramboda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Thuruliya Lodge” An ideal lodging place in Kandy - Nuwara Eliya Road, Sri Lanka. Its surrounded by Natural water falls, Rivers, Reservoirs, Tea estates, Paddy fields and many more breathtaking types of sceneries. You can visit famous Ramboda Falls, Kothmale mahaa Thoopa, Kothmale dam side, Mackwoods tea Centre, Sri Bhaktha Hanuman Temple and more interesting places. Visit us and Feel the real Change. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thuruliya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thuruliya Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.