We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Quaint and Quality!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tree Inn

Save Saved
You added Green Tree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Mill Street, P. O. Box 96, Elsah, IL 62028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Elsah B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quiet, Quaint and Quality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you are looking for a wonderful weekend getaway, this may very well be the place for you. It is set in the Historic Village of Elsa IL. The homes are wonderfully old and well maintained and we loved strolling around the streets and thinking of retiring to a place such as this. The rooms are clean and well maintained and decorated nicely. The owners are new and have done a great job of keeping this Historic Inn running. Nice breakfast and treat in the evening. We hung out in the main area and watched some TV and read up on the area our first night. It was so peaceful and relaxing. The only draw back for some might be that you have to drive to get to any shops or restaurants. It would be great if they opened a few shops and had at least one restaurant in Elsa so you didn't have to go to Grafton. However, that can also be part of the great weekend. We loved Grafton. The shops, wineries, the river... Food/Drinks/View are awesome at the Loading Dock and also at the Grafton Winery. This is a b & b that I would go just to be by myself sometime - and that isn't something I can normally say.

Room Tip: Room #1 is on the lower level (that's where I'm staying next time. It also has a front and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Green Tree Inn, made to feel so very welcome and the rooms were comfortable, clean & quiet.

Even a power cut the next morning didn't spoil the stay with the owner pulling out all the stops to provide breakfast.

Have a wander around the village too, it won't take long, but there are some great examples of old-style american homes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Being innkeepers ourselves, we usually choose B&Bs when we travel. It's fun to get to know other innkeepers. It's nice to be on the "receiving side" of innkeeping too! We both slept well in a very comfortable bed. It's been a while since I've slept like that away from home. We were treated to warm hospitality and a delicious breakfast the next morning, and enjoyed "talking shop" with Brenda as we visited during breakfast.

The Green Tree Inn is super clean and comfortable, and is in a great location. I want to return in the spring and summer to see the flower garden. If you are looking for the perfect place for quiet and beauty, Green Tree Inn is where you want to be.

Thank you Brenda, for making our stay perfect!
Judy & Norm Reagan

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Elsah is a quaint small village which is also home to a college our daughter has attended the past four years. We have stayed numerous times at this charming, and inviting B & B. The rooms are clean, uncluttered, and air-conditioned, a must for summer visitors to the area. The inn is located barely two blocks from the Mississippi River. The innkeepers are wonderfully gracious people, who make their guests feel welcome and at home, and the breakfasts are superb! It is quiet and the atmosphere is lovely. If you have questions about the area and its attractions, the inn's owners are happy to be of help in any way. We can highly, highly recommend The Green Tree Inn!

  • Liked — Small, quaint, clean, charming, hospitable.
  • Disliked — There are only 5 rooms for rent . . . four are upstairs.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tree Inn

Address: 15 Mill Street, P. O. Box 96, Elsah, IL 62028
Location: United States > Illinois > Elsah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elsah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Tree Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the peacefulness of quaint Green Tree Inn in the heart of historic Elsah, IL where the architecture of early America is framed by high limestone bluffs, tree-covered hills and the mighty Mississippi. The Inn's beautiful valley is sheltered by nature from everyday intrusions. Enjoy our graciously appointed guests rooms, each with a private bath. Open your door and find a wide porch where you can enjoy the view and the wildlife. Breakfast is home-cooked and is a special time when new acquaintances become old friends over a good cup of coffee and great conversations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Green Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.