We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mack's Golden Pheasant

Mack's Golden Pheasant
668 W North Ave, Elmhurst, IL 60126-2129
630-279-8544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 118 Restaurants in Elmhurst
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Blue Island, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

A perfect place for a Sunday afternoon destination. We take route 83 north all the way in. It feels like you've stepped back into time to a Wisconsin supper club. Service is warm and friendly, food is very very good. If you go...ask for a garden view...spectacular. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We expected much better, based on other Trip Advisor reviews. It does look like a Wisconsin supper club inside (a good thing) and everyone at the bar looked like they were having a nice time watching the game and kidding around with the bartender (also a good thing). But the food was pretty disappointing. My gin and tonic came without lime, my husband's manhattan was adequate. Soup tasted like it was from a can. A small, average salad bar, unattractively presented. I had the Bohemian platter (a quarter of a duck and roast pork). The meat was dry. The bread dumpling was just bread, tasteless and dry. The sauerkraut was adequate. The red cabbage side dish was tasty. My husband said his weiner schnitzel tasted like tough chicken fried steak. A brown gravy covered everything on both plates and the waitress brought a gravy boat with more. You know you are in trouble when the same gravy covers dishes whether they are made with duck, pork or veal. Old, muddy, burned undrinkable coffee. Friendly service. We will not go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Chicago
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Been going here since the 1960's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have eaten here dozens of time over the years and the experience is alway a pleasant one. The other reviewers are right, it is like a Wisconsin supper club inside, ignore the ugly parking lot and go on in. You won't be disappointed. The dining room has a homey wood burning fireplace and if you sit in the back you can look out the large picture window into the yard which ususally have wild life walking arround. They used to have pheasants (hence the name) and ducks. I don't know if the still do. Great family run restaurant.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

great service, the food was great, they aslo have a very nice bar at this resturant. its a short walk from the hotel, maybe 5 minutes tops...

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wow great place, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is the nicest restaurant if you like to feel you've gone back in time a bit, so definitely for the over 40 crowd. I swear I was in a old time Supper Club perhaps in WI. The view makes you feel like you are in a rural place and not in the heart of one of the busiest intersection in IL, I don't know how they do it. A huge fire place makes for a cozy, cozy experience and the drinks offered take you back to the rat pack days,manhattan's, tom collins, stone sours,grasshooper etc. WoW! The "but" is that my husband is a big man, not fat, but football player big and the chairs are all kind of small with arms, he was not comfortable.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mack's Golden Pheasant also viewed

Elmhurst, DuPage County
Elmhurst, DuPage County
 
Elmhurst, DuPage County
Elmhurst, DuPage County
 

Been to Mack's Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mack's Golden Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.