We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lizzadro Museum of Lapidary Art

Lizzadro Museum of Lapidary Art
220 Cottage Hill, Elmhurst, IL 60126
630-833-1616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Elmhurst
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to the art of stone cutting.
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you're a fan of precious stones, you won't be disappointed. It is filled with truly mind-blowing art made out of rare jades, agate, coral, crystal, ivory, amber and other precious materials - mostly carvings. Everything from statues, bowls, cameos, vases, snuff bottles and then little dioramas including animal carvings attractive for kids. I just couldn't believe it, everywhere I looked there was something else that I couldn't imagine how it was ever created. Another floor had interesting educational displays. Amazing place!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Killer gift shop ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Haven't walked around museum in years, but always sneak in go to use bathroom and vist gift shop. Always seem to have to pretty cool stuff. Most of which you didn't know you needed till just then

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Fiberoptics and LED lighting really makes this place ROCK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wow, I'm glad we allowed at least 2 hours for the Lizzadro Lapidary Museum. We were visiting from outta town, and had a couple hours before flights home. The exterior of the building is quite dated from the 1960's, but the interior knocked my socks off. The new cases and lighting really made these fine works sparkle and shine. No wonder they need a (friendly) guard with so many pieces of fine Chinese jade. Their little collection must be worth tens of millions...

The entrance fee and the gift shop are both pretty reasonably-priced.

We will recommend to all our relatives.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Like a hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A very educational visit and not too large to be overwhelmed, but just enough to peak your interests. Staff helpful in answering questions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best surprise I've ever had at a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I like jade and thought this would be a nice place in the area to visit. I had no idea how beautiful, varied, and fascinating these treasures from around the world would be. Beyond the great jade artifacts from China, the museum contains beautifully carved figures and decorative objects of jasper, amber, tiger eye, quartz, and other semi-precious stones, some set in dioramas of undersea life or desert landscapes. Elmhurst is out of the way, but if you want to see an exhibit of mineral, glass and ivory art that surpasses Chicago's Field Museum of Natural History, find your way to this museum, a hidden gem itself. Free on Fridays, great for kids, nice gift shop, lots of parking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lizzadro Museum of Lapidary Art also viewed

 
Oak Brook, DuPage County
Elmhurst, DuPage County
 

Been to Lizzadro Museum of Lapidary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizzadro Museum of Lapidary Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.