We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Manager Bobby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballymac Hotel

The Ballymac Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ballymac Hotel to your Saves list
The Ballymac Hotel
7a Rock Road, Stoneyford BT28 3SU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoneyford B&B and Inns
Belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bar Manager Bobby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a nice meal we had, I was at my Aunts 50th Wedding anniversary party in ur private room there was 22 of us for meal and a lot of r party stayed over. Ur bar manager Bobby was so rude to us and other quest staying as well he went right up to a girl face pointing and her and told her to just sit there and shut up. Couldt believe my eyes how is he Bar manager not a peoples person. Not a good reflection for the hotel. Get wel rid u r going to lose customer and without customers u have nothing :(. I am going to wedding in sept there I hope is not there.
July 13 Linda m.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
38
17
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who informed us of when breakfast etc was and pointed us to our room, the room it's self was very spacious and well presented, this was however let down by the bathroom which was very tired looking (infact te bath needed to be resealed, this was also an issue in a friends room) and there was mould round the bath and hair in the plug hole from the previous user. There was a large kettle without tea and coffee however when we advised reception of this they sent some down.

Breakfast in the morning was good, well cooked and not cold, although it was very quiet the service was good and fast,

The Wedding

The room where the ceremony was held was a fair size however the layout of the pillars made the position of the seating awkward. With some areas with poor viewing.

The function room was also a good size and laid out well, it had 2 areas an eating/dance area and a pub/bar area. The service again was good and the staff pleasant there was not an excessive delay between courses which you sometimes get. The portion sizes were large and the food was of a very good standard and hot.

The only issue with the hotel is that they have blinds and not curtains in the rooms, although the hotel is in the middle of nowhere the security lights in the car park are on all night (pointed right at the window) and are very bright, this meant that the room was never dark, I did raise this as I checked out and I was under the impression that this had not been raised as an issue before but was told that it would be passed on to management, the other issue was the price of the drinks as they were very expensive and as a result we ate out on our last night.

Room Tip: Any room not facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

july 2013, at wedding anniversary party, I observed the rudest, cheekiest bar manager ive ever seen get right into a ladys face while telling her that her job was to sit there and shut up, there was no excuse for this rudness, this cheeky so and so was going out of his way to be confrontational, this header should not be in the hospitality business at all, there has been complaints put to the management about this behaviour, it would be interesting to see the outcome of the compliants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with the family a few times on a Sunday,Food and service was brill.Plenty of seating areas....love the mash potatoes!...service was great.I also went to a few weddings here also,great place to stay...very clean....Just around the corner there is stonyford dam....great place to walk off all the food!We will visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A great hotel, with very courteous and friendly staff. Rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent with a very varied menu which will suit any taste. I have always stayed here when working in the Lisburn area and hopefully will continue to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Béal Feirste, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here last year for a night on the £90 offer for b&b and evening meal. The food was beautiful and great value for what we paid. The bathroom was a bit dated but the room was a good size and comfortable. Staff were very friendly also. It is a bit far out but ok if you drive. Would definatley go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Down
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

First time visit to this hotel on 29th June 2013. Have passed this hotel many many times but really never had the occasion to stop until recently. On way to the airport on holiday we had some time to spare so decided to call in for lunch. First impressions were good regarding general ambience/decor/welcome. Were shown to a table by a friendly waitress. The bar/dining area was not busy, only a scattering of diners, maybe a dozen at most however considering the location way out in the country on a Saturday afternoon I suppose that would be the norm. The service was excellent, the food was excellent with good sized portions and even the Manager or owner (not sure who he was however he did look and sound important) took the time to chat and showed an interest in us as customers. The only down side was the waiter who took our order was chewing gum which did not look very professional. On saying that, we certainly would go back to the Ballymac and probably sooner rather than later, we would recommend. But for that one waiter we would have given this establishment 5 stars instead of 4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ballymac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballymac Hotel

Address: 7a Rock Road, Stoneyford BT28 3SU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Stoneyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoneyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ballymac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballymac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.