We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elk Grove Hotel to your Saves list
Elk Grove Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Oakton Street, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 (Formerly Ramada Elk Grove Village/O'Hare Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible customer service!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were in town for the B96 Jingle Bash at the Allstate Arena and we ha made reservations through a third party and web we got to the hotel we went to the front desk and waited for what seemed like forever! When the lady came finally we told her we had a reservation only to be told we would have to wait about a half hour for someone to clean A room. I told her we had reserved a room and it should be ready and he gave is bad attitude and rolled her eyes and said "well we have to clean one unless you want a dirty room" we turned around and left

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    20
    26
    74
See reviews for
31
31
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our group got there very late that night, and the first room the hotel staff gave me had not been clean. There were no sheets on the bed and the coffee pot was full. I had to go back downstairs and ask for another room. They then gave me a decent room close to the entrance hall which was fine.

The room is basic but clean. The bathroom is basic but worked. It was fine for a short sleep. The free shuttle to the airport is convenient as well as the breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to someone who needs to spend the night in a bed before taking a plane the next day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed 3 days and paid $51, The staff was very nice, my room was always very clean, the usual light breakfast thing, a pool, rooms are decent size. Old motel but is good for price, if you want fancy pay more. I will stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First of all, I only paid $46.00 for my room, so I shouldn't have expected too much. Still, it was a surprisingly low rate for an airport hotel of Ramada's level. The problems started with my call for a ride from O'Hare. First I was told 10 minute wait, then 25 - this in the early afternoon, not the busiest time. Even though I'd booked the room at Ramada.com, the front desk had it down that I'd booked through a third party and that the room was already paid for. It wasn't, but we agreed to revisit this in the morning when I checked out.

The room was of decent size and comfort. However, it was a warm day and the air conditioner didn't work. Front desk said they'd send maintenance right up. It never happened. 45 minutes later I call again and was told the maintenance guy was off on some errand, but he'd be back soon and they'd send him right up. An hour later, no maintenance guy, so I call again. Oh, the maintenance man has gone home for the day. In the meantime I'd managed to cool my room down by opening the windows and while this worked, the noise from airplanes climbing away from O'Hare was quite loud. Still, it was later in the day and since the room had cooled down a bit (sun in the windows was the main culprit, I suspect) I elected to stay. Interestingly, no offer was ever made to switch me to another room.

Later, a light bulb went out. I called down to front desk. This time, I got some guy who spoke broken English when he bothered to speak at all. I really had to drag answers out of him. No lightbulbs. Light bulbs go out all the time and yet they didn't have any available for quick replacement. The room was nice and quiet (no neighbors) and since that was more important to me than more light, I left it be.

Finally, I was looking forward to watching the Monday Night Football game. What? They had cable but some budget package that didn't include ESPN. Sigh... At least the wireless connection was good, so I listened on my laptop.

The best part of my stay was the quiet room and the shuttle driver, a nice guy who worked hard and was helpful with bags and the like. Would I stay here again? At $46.00 a night - maybe. I think this could be a pretty good hotel if they just get a better management team that knows how to hire good, conscientious and caring people in the public contact positions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antioch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After reading the negative reviews about this hotel I thought Oh Great what did I do since I purchased through Hotwire and it was nonrefundable. Anyways, it was fine. I stayed only one night. I had to catch a early flight. I took the shuttle to the airport. I paid $40 and tax for the room through hotwire. Great Deal. Room was clean. King size bed.... couch.... - there was a pool area which looked nice (atrium) it was empty when I arrived at 7pm but the area looked nice. When I pulled up in parking lot it looked a little older...and by the front enterance/canopy... was under construction but the inside was fine. They have a complimentary breakfast however I did not have time to eat. The shuttle ride was fine. The 2 ladies when I arrived where pleasant behind the counter.

Room Tip: I did stay in a nonsmoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

On arrival at this hotel, I found the front desk staff too busy talking amongst each other. Gave me a room key to a room which hadn't been made up yet. Hotel wireless internet was broken for 2 days. The "business centre" had 1 working PC but the internet also broke on this. I asked for some help with this but the staff member behind the desk glanced up from texting and said he didn't know. I felt customer service could have been improved. Restaurant was out of service. Hotel shuttle runs from the hotel to O'Hare hourly.
Room was OK, comfortable and clean enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I can't believe United sent me here. This hotel was probably an okay place 30-40 years ago. Sooo outdated. No restaurant. No gift/convenience shop (although there were a few vending machines). The remote for the TV didn't work. The whole hotel was dark, musty, dingy and scary and felt like the owners had given up a long time ago.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Grove Hotel

Address: 1600 Oakton Street, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 (Formerly Ramada Elk Grove Village/O'Hare Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elk Grove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Elk Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada o`Hare Hotel Elk Grove Village
Ramada Elk Grove Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Grove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.