We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eww” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Grove Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elk Grove Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
Elk Grove Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Oakton Street, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 (Formerly Ramada Elk Grove Village/O'Hare Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eww”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I can't believe United sent me here. This hotel was probably an okay place 30-40 years ago. Sooo outdated. No restaurant. No gift/convenience shop (although there were a few vending machines). The remote for the TV didn't work. The whole hotel was dark, musty, dingy and scary and felt like the owners had given up a long time ago.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    16
    17
    57
See reviews for
23
21
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our incoming flight to Chicago was delayed, so we missed our connection to London, and United Airlines gave us a voucher for an overnight stay at the Ramada Ohare Elk Grove.
We waited for an hour for the shuttle bus, and eventually had to ask the bell boy at the Hilton to make a call for us to the Ramada. The shuttle bus (a clapped out , bashed up old van ) turned up and took us to the Ramada. What a dull , dreary, worn out, grim place it is.
Though the reception staff were friendly and helpful. it was a miserable stay. The blanket had a burn hole, the alam clock did not work, the carpets felt sticky, and the TV set also felt sticky. Yuck! I resisted the urge to look at the mattress,......!! The bathroom was clean , but in need of refurbishment.
Continental breakfast was OK.......just.
It seemed to be a truck driver stop.
Wifi is only available in the lobby .
The place just needs to be demolished, and United Airlines should be ashamed to offer it.
On the other hand , with a voucher value of 60$ for a hotel within 30 minutes of the airport, maybe you cant expect a lot??
My advice....give this one a miss......

Room Tip: Dont go there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

The owner refuses to turn on heat, we freeze. 58 degrees in room 186. 40 degrees outside!
The place is a sinking ship. Do not stay there. The employees families hang out there. The place is disfunctual.
Only 10 percent of the rooms are usable.
You have been warned!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I wil never stay at this place again.... i have a whole list of problems... i was left at the airport by the shuttle....Bugs at the breakfast bar.... non smoking rooms burn holes all in sheets and bed... the front desk person was rude.... hotel is dirty.... phone did not work.... old tv's with only a few channels.... WIFI DOES NOT WORK!!! WIFI DOES NOT WORK!!!! and that was a must for me and i did not find out until AFTER i checked in and paid!!! DO NOT COME HERE YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We came here when we first came back from India to Chicago in 2005. The hotel is not good at all and it didn't seem worth the price we paid. I remember being tired after a 30 hour flight only to find out that I couldn't fall asleep there. Avoid if possible.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My son was coming back from Poland and needed 1 night stay, so he could be on the next flight to California, this was the best deal, including breakfast, and a free shuttle from and back to O'hare airport. He got clean room, with clean shower, tv, breakfast included, quiet enviornment... When checking in from August 20,2012 the girl at the front desk gave him better deal then it was booked throught booking.com.... great place for the money, few eateries down the block... thumbs up....

Room Tip: Ask for quiet, clean room etc....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I booked my hotel on line with Hotwire and only spent $36 a night. I told myself to not expect the Ritz as i was not paying for the Ritz. After finding out what hotel I was staying at and reading the reviews here, I was a bit nervous and expected the worst. We arrived and the tarp was still over the entrance as told in other reviews. We walked in and was greated by the very nice ladies at the check in desk. They told us right up front that the electicity was off because of someone working on another part of the Hotel and if we wanted to cancel they would contact Hotwire and arrange for a refund. Well while we were standing there the lights came on. The hotel is out dated but not the horrible scene somany people discribed. We got the room key and opened to the door to a large room that was clean. The bed was more comfortable than the more expensive hotels I have stayed at. The bath room was clean. There was a blow dryer, coffee maker, and an ironing board and iron. Our room did not smell at all as it was a non-smoking room. The air worked great, so much so I had to turn it down as it got a bit chilly in the room. The room was far from the lobby but there were numerous places to park around with entrances close to every room. I would indeed stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor it is quiet and away from the pool unless you like being near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Grove Hotel

Also Known As:
Ramada o`Hare Hotel Elk Grove Village
Ramada o`Hare Hotel
Ramada Elk Grove Village
Address: 1600 Oakton Street, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 (Formerly Ramada Elk Grove Village/O'Hare Airport)
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Elk Grove Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elk Grove Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Elk Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Grove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.