We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room; great nights sleep; friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Busse Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable room; great nights sleep; friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

As others who have recently reviewed this property, I stayed two nights for a frequent traveler conference (my 3rd year attending; missed 1). Since I was arriving late, I had e-mailed the property prior to arrival to ensure that my room type request would be available and got an almost immediate response from the GM indicating no problem, room reserved.

Upon arrival, and throughout my stay, the one prevalent impression that I got was that the staff was super friendly, courteous, and thoroughly enjoyed working with this big group! Everyone was smiling and that was a lasting impression.

I found the room to be very comfortable, clean, and was happy when I realized that there was a refrigerator which I made great use of to chill my diet Coke's and leftover pizza from nearby Lou Malnati's (yum!-deep dish Chicago-style!). Got a great sleep both nights of my stay. Oh, and the wifi worked great.

Already making plans to return for next year's conference! Keep smiling!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and can't wait to see everyone back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    67
    35
    6
    9
See reviews for
39
24
11
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Like the previous reviews, I attended a conference at this hotel. The staff were friendly and worked hard to accommodate us. My room had lots of space plus a refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom was very small - the door almost touches the toilet when opening/closing. The free wifi worked well. The hotel restaurant had good food at reasonable prices though during the conference it was way understaffed leading to long wait times. There is also Starbucks and Panda Express nearby but otherwise food options are very limited around the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We appreciate your posting! Thank you for mentioning our staff! We're sorry to hear you thought the bathroom was small, but thrilled that overall, you had a great experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, and hope to see you back at next year's event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I also was attending a conference at the hotel. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room itself left a lot to be desired. To begin with the left side drape was half hanging and it stayed that for both days I was a guest. The bathroom was the worst part. There was no shower curtain liner, mold in the grout and no conditioner provided. In addition, on the second day a cleaning rag was left on the bathroom counter. If I attend this conference in the future, I will stay in another hotel.

Also, the walls were incredibly think. I could hear all sorts of plumbing noises throughout the night.

I had a morning flight and the tables in the lobby area were littered with dirty glassware from the day before.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments! Although we love hearing about our staff, we're dissappointed to see that you had issues in your room. There is no mention in your posting if you informed any of our team members about these issues. I certainly hope you did, and that what was able to be corrected, was!
If not, please - always bring things like this to our attention so we can address them before you check out. Hopefully you'll reconsider, and re book with us again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I attended a conference held at the Holiday Inn Elk Grove and stayed at the hotel for 2 days.

I was greeted pleasantly and given my room early, though I had not notified the hotel of my early arrival. I received a small welcome amenity (snack and bottle of water) due to IHG loyalty membership status.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to O'Hare which runs every 30 minutes much of the day, and every hour in less peak hours.

My room was clean and pleasant. Common areas were also clean (though overly crowded at our event).

The staff of the hotel worked very hard and were, without fail, very pleasant.

The only issue is that service in the onsite restaurant had very slow service. I suspect they were understaffed due to the large conference but that is something they knew in advance and ideally should have staffed up. There is a Starbucks just up the road, but otherwise dining options in the area are quite limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your posting! We're thrilled to hear that your experience was a good one! The Seminar sure had us packed, and we apologize if that was an inconvenience at any point throughout your weekend. We can't wait to have you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is my second year attending a conference at this hotel and my first one staying here. The staff are incredibly helpful, friendly, and professional. That makes up for any little inconveniences.

The attached restaurant has excellent food at very inexpensive prices. It's a nice atmosphere that doesn't feel like a hotel restaurant/bar.

The room was spacious, temperature controlled, quiet, and clean.

The one problem was the wifi. I couldn't get service on my iPhone for most of my stay. I called the front desk for help. They transferred me to an off site IT service who spent maybe 15 minutes on the phone with me and couldn't figure it out. They said they would call me back and never did. I gave up and used my data plan.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Very nice to hear! Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, we take pride in serving our guests! We're sorry to hear you had wi fi issues however. It's understandable to be frustrated after 15 minutes on the phone with s support desk.

We are glad however to see that overall you had a great experience with us! Looking forward to having you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It becomes to easy to frame cliche's when offering opinion; and being a person not prone to cite business attributes, notably the concept is being gauche or pretentious or perhaps self-serving; I draft this 'feedback' specific for those travelers seeking honest and true witness to a business that stands prepared to make your stay more than a bed. I would like to offer the thanks and appreciations deserved to the staff, Abed, Emmanuel, Marlene and Jeff. They make not only for competent Clerks, they stand for friendliness beyond a call of service, and this being especially true to Miguel, a server, who is more than willing to assure to your needs. I might go as far to claim, the hotel being clean and accomodiating is second nature to those that make a stay into a pleasure, they have become more than friendly greeters, I would like to call them friends and family; for you shall discover this yourself, these folks take the sharp edge of traveling into a relaxing and uplifting experience. When then claim to be there to serve, it is not merely words folks, they stand for their performance. If IHG is seeking role models for business attributes, look to Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village Illinois, they are your true performers and deserve the recognition. Thank you for opportunity to share time with you; and for the travelers, for the money spent, you could not find a better place to take your family, for they respect you just like you are their family.

Room Tip: I would suggest those light sleepers: to ask to be away from the elevator, being it is quite active...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
What a genuine pleasure it is to reply to your posting. Thank you for taking the time to post such a well thought out, and classy note. We appreciate you recognizing so many of our associates by name! Please know that we share all comments, both negative and postitive with our team. We realize that a "room is a room" in most cases, as long as it's clean and everything functions as is should. Our staff is what makes, or breaks a guests' experience!
We're sorry if elevator traffic disturbed you at all, but very happy to see that overall, you had a great experience with us. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel has the friendliest staff. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and nice. The shuttle driver was very informative and friendly. The staff know the area and the city of Chicago very well. They recommended great attractions and resturaunts. This hotel has the best staff I have ever seen. I will definetly stay at this hotel next time I am in Chicago. GREAT hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Perfect! Nothing makes us happier than reading postings like this! We pride ourselves on creating a memorable experience for our guests, and this is a perfect example!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Please, we want to know if this is ever NOT the experience you have, before you check out, so we can fix it!

Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Address: 1000 Busse Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elk Grove Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village, Illinois. We are minutes away from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) in the heart of the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago. Our award winning associates are ready to ensure your stay with us is a success. We offer shuttle service to and from O Hare (6:00am to 10:30pm) for only $5.00 per person/per trip, as well as complimentary transportation within a 5 mile radius of the hotel (including Woodfield Shopping Center). We also within walking distance to easy public transportation to Downtown Chicago. Our friendly staff and clean rooms offer efficient work space complimented by free ultra fast high-speed wireless Internet. Our dining options include a visit to Shelby Campbell's restaurant attached to the hotel featuring our new full menu. Known for local favorites like our chili, pizza, and newly added lobster mac N cheese, Shelby Campbell's still offers the famous Shelby Steak and pork chop, and is also available for room service. We look forward to you checking in with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove Hotel Elk Grove Village
Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village
Elk Grove Village Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.