We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Busse Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Elk Grove Village
St. Paul, Mn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I stayed her with my mom and 3 year old son. We wanted to stay somewhere just outside of Chicago (so it was cheaper) but the main purpose of the trip was to spend the weekend in the city. All was good the first night. The second night there was a large group of young men in the pool area which wasn't a big deal, we just waited to take my son swimming the next morning. Unfortunately the pool area hadn't been picked up, stocked with towels, or in anyway checked or cleaned since the night before. There was trash overflowing, all towels were gone, and there was "crud" floating and in the bottom of the pool. Kind of gross!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    53
    27
    6
    9
See reviews for
31
19
11
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

This hotel is an older hotel that has tried to be updated but it hasnt gone well. It is basic and fairly clean. The rooms didnt smell funny and or have any major issues. The bathroom had a little funk to it but it was manageable. We stayed there on the stay and fly program and flew out the next morning out of Ohare. That went well and the shuttle driver was on time and cordial. We called them to pick us up after we got back and they were there in a reasonable amount of time. If you are looking for a hotel around a lot to do then this is not it. But if you are looking for a reasonable stay or a decent place to stay and when you fly out of Ohare then this works.

Room Tip: Booked it on the stay and fly for 129
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The best thing I can say about this hotel is it is affiliated with the Avalon banquet hall whare my neice had her wedding. They did seem to organize things relating to the wedding well including the shuttle that to us back and forth to Avalon and the reception.

The hotel seems outdated. The hot tub wasn't working and may never since it was shut down for plumbing code changes. The pool its self is not very deep and unimpressive. Most of the decor seems to be from the 70-80's .The heating unit was quite noisy. Like others have mentioned I never got my hair dry without the hair drier kicking out. There was however a fridge , microwave, and coffee pot. . There was new granite and tile in the bath but no vent.

The airport shuttle only runs once an hour.

Beware paying the extra for breakfast . The vouchers are only for 5 choices and not the whole menu. We had to go back and get our vouchers for the second night since they didn't give them to us when we checked in. Others in our group had similar complaints concerning both the vouchers and the breakfast set up in general. We were given a room with two double beds instead of the king we booked through Expedia. I am not sure which party to fault for that.

Old Chicago seems to be a decent place for lunch and dinner. They offer a lot of drink choices also. They seemed to have some good specials and so very over priced items.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Located in industrial park area but close to amenities. Hotel restaurant was very expensive with average food. Additional restaurant/bar located on site. Hotel coffee in room and in hotel restaurant was very bad. Strange tiny pillows. Bathroom very uncomfortable. Manager and staff are all middle eastern.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere. You cannot walk to anything. The only positive was the great restaurant attached to the building (not operated by the hotel). Parking was available and seemed to be free. It is miles from the airport.

The rooms are very bare. it's a no frills location. The lobby is the nicest part. Beward of Frank the shuttle driver. He was very rude and he kept asking me very strange questions of a patronizing nature. There was a group of kids in the hotel that were behaving VERY badly and he asked if I was part of that "group". I had never seen those poorly behaved kids ever before PLUS I am 20 years older than anyone who was in that "group".

Finally, after several questions from FRANK, I told him it's better if we don't speak. He snapped!!! He pulled a tape recorder from his pocket, turned around and waved it in my face and took his eyes completely OFF the road. The shuttle swerved into the next lane and horns starting honking from all directions. Frank turned back around just in time to avoid an accident. He then took the very next exit and got off the freeway.

I'd be VERY happy for Frank to play any conversation we had while in the shuttle. It will only show him questioning and questioning me about being with a rude group of wayward minors and me REPEATEDLY denying any involvement with them. The youth were minorities and Frank made a reference to that fact. Totally uncalled for!!

When I got out of the shuttle, I immediately called the hotel. I was told the manager would be in on Monday. I saw my life flash before my eyes. So beware of Frank and his tape recorder!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Spent two nights in October using point breaks (yay!).

Pro's: Internet was simple, fast. Bathroom had been updated. Micro/fridge in room. Ice down the hall. Front desk clerks were very cordial. Close to O'Hare (with the occasional plane overhead - not a bother at all). Easy drives to Woodfield Mall-Schaumburg and Elmhurst. Restaurant attached featured a decent menu and prices (we did not dine there, though). Enough cable channels. Wood furniture in good condition. Pool area looked inviting (we did not take advantage of that). Parking near entrances available. Keycards required for entrance. Room and public areas were clean.

Con's (to varying degrees): Odd location. Room overlooked trucking lot. Walls a bit thin (could hear folks next door laughing after midnight - we just turned up the radio). Hallways somewhat dreary. Room attendants rather blank. Pillows waaaaay small. Bed very soft with sinkhole in the middle. Upholstered furniture and carpeting showed some wear. Heat unit in wall made noise and clicked on then off abruptly. No breakfast (I know, it's a HI, not a HIX!). Only one soap bar provided. Hair dryer stopped in mid-dry; had to fiddle with it to get it functioning again. One of our keycards did not work.

Overall: Primarily due to cleanliness and proximity to our desired locales, and the fact that we only utilized the hotel to sleep, we'd stay again, but only on point breaks or a very reduced price. I'd only recommend it to a friend who was also just using it for sleep and proximity.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed here with Priority Club points. Not a bad hotel, but very basic. A/C unit a bit noisy, but manageable. Was there for a conference and staff were very helpful - no glitches - which is saying a lot when 500 people attend. On the "wrong" side of ORD (west side), but still not tough to get to. Just make sure you have a GPS. Easy access to Western Suburbs of Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Address: 1000 Busse Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Elk Grove Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village, Illinois. We are minutes away from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) in the heart of the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago. Our award winning associates are ready to ensure your stay with us is a success. We offer shuttle service to and from O Hare (6:00am to 10:30pm) for only $5.00 per person/per trip, as well as complimentary transportation within a 5 mile radius of the hotel (including Woodfield Shopping Center). We also within walking distance to easy public transportation to Downtown Chicago. Our friendly staff and clean rooms offer efficient work space complimented by free ultra fast high-speed wireless Internet. Our dining options include a visit to Shelby Campbell's restaurant attached to the hotel featuring our new full menu. Known for local favorites like our chili, pizza, and newly added lobster mac N cheese, Shelby Campbell's still offers the famous Shelby Steak and pork chop, and is also available for room service. We look forward to you checking in with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove Hotel Elk Grove Village
Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village
Elk Grove Village Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.