We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lou Malnati's is Best Chicago Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Malnati's Pizzeria

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria
1050 E Higgins Rd, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-1590
847-439-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lou Malnati's is Best Chicago Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Grew up in Chicago and thus, I have been fortunate to have had lots of really good pizza in my life. Chicago's pizza is better than anywhere else I have been, even in the cities where it's damned good, and there are many, many, many out there.

BUT OF ALL THESE PLACES IN CHICAGO AND ELSEWHERE, LOU MALNATI'S IS THE BEST PIZZA! Highly recommend the thin sliced cheese. The crust is perfect and the cheese and sauce are so good. I love Malnati's. It's the best Chicago pizza. CHECK IT OUT!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    39
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't believe it's rated number one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Got a deep dish delivered. It was in a nice box with literally 35 napkins but that didn't make up for the food quality. Deep dish appeared to be frozen, preformed dough. Spinach was barely present.

Cheese was good quality with stringy texture. Sauce was good- chunky and little sweet.

I would recommend a different crust if this is your restaurant of choice. The "thick crust" was really not deep dish. It had crunchy top edges and softer bottom layer, but not any thicker than chain stores-Papa Johns or Pizza Hut dough.

Overall not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classic Lou's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Been a while since I had Lou's, so I had to visit again when I was in town. Had the calamari (really good), and a sausage personal pan pizza (also good). A Chicago area classic, don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pizza looks so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

First time here and we didn't have extra 30 mins for pizza so we ordered sandwiches. We both got the beef with melted provolone and it's huge had to take half home. U can get fries or cottage cheese with fresh fruit as your side. Service was excellent & friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Deep Dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

They have s few locations so I can only speak for the one in Elk Grove Village. The deep dish pizza is excellent and for that I would give it a 5. However, the appetizers are so-so at best and the ice tea tastes like it was made with powdered mix in tap water ... I would give those a 2. But again -- the deep dish pizza with crisp buttery crust is a 5 excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria also viewed

Elk Grove Village, IL
Elk Grove Village, IL
 
Elk Grove Village, IL
Elk Grove Village, IL
 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Malnati's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.