We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabethtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins
Save
You added Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins to your Saves list
RR2 Box 34A, Near Karbers Ridge Road, Elizabethtown, IL 62931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Such a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a great time here with my partner. We stayed in Sassafras Ridge cabin for 2 nights. We were made to feel very welcome, and the owners really have thought of everything. If you want to cook all you need to bring is food and drink - silverware, plates, saucepans etc are all here.
I've lived in a city for 15 years, but grew up in the countryside - it was so nice to see so many stars at night for the first time in forever.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Spent 3 nights with my significant other and our dog in the smaller treehouse cabin. The outpost was quiet and laid back. The property is gorgeous and we had fun day adventures at nearby attractions (rim rock, garden of the gods, metropolis 1 hour away).

The treehouse was fully furnished and we had everything we needed. Although the price may seem a little steep, we saved money by cooking all our meals, and had a much better experience than staying at a traditional holiday inn.

The treehouse may not be for everyone, those with bad hips/knees may not appreciate the stair climb up and the ladder to the loft. But for those willing to make the trip it is very much worth it.

If you're headed to the area, even just for a night, this is most definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our first trip to Timber Ridge was wonderful. Right in the heart of the Shawnee nat'l forest and conveniently located to the famous Garden of the Gods therein. Timber Ridge is well known for its treehouse cabins (and rightly so) but we stayed in the Sassafras cabin which is one of their standard cabins. Fantastic!! It is a true log cabin with all modern amenities. Beautiful and spotlessly clean interior with a rustic feel. Outstanding kitchen, bathroom (with claw foot tub,and shower), and living area. The upstairs contained two beds and a daybed. Each floor had ample climate control. The beds were quite comfy. Large quantity of wood nearby for fires in the firepit by the hammock and camping style chairs. Pet friendly! Extremely convenient. Truly a hassle free location. Elizabeth and her staff have thought of it all. All you have to do is show up! Bring all the food you want and cook and serve on the ware provided or drive a short distance to your favorite restaurant. I will be returning without a doubt!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Maple Oak Treehouse provided by Timberridge Outposts and Cabins and it was everything I could have ever imagined! My boyfriend and I, along with another couple stayed duringg Memorial Day Weekend. Great star gazing field, hammocks everywhere, and short drives to other main attractions. We saw Garden of the Gods, Rim Rock, and from Rim Rock we hiked to Pounds Hollow Lake. Beautiful scenery and the treehouse was very clean and well kept. Elizabeth answered all of my questions quickly and thoroughly and was very helpful. I hope to return sometime!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in the maple treehouse, it was such a great experience. The treehouse really sleeps two but with younger children maybe four. The area around the treehouse is very nice and some what private. You do feel like it's your own campsite. They have a fire pit, camp style charcoal grill. The fire wood is provided and charcoal in not. Mind you this is a small treehouse, but your outside more than in the treehouse itself. The location is very close to the Garden of the Gods, which is a must see while visiting. They also have a game area with bags, horseshoes and tether ball. All and all a great place to stay...if your not into tree houses, the also have log cabins if you want to keep yourself closer to the ground. They also allow dog...so we took ours on his first vacation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent four days/three nights in the smaller of the two treehouses (2 adults and 2 kids, age 4 and 7). Although a little small at times (the other treehouse is larger), we did not plan to - and did not - spend a lot of time in the treehouse with all the recreational opportunities in the area (Garden of the Gods, Cave in Rock, etc.). With good weather, no reason to not be outside on the grounds or out and about. Hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. Come prepared to make do for meals with the outdoor grill (could use an upgrade to one with a cover) and microwave/cooktop in the treehouse, as provisions are a good drive away, and best to not have to spend too much time in a car once there. Very unique setting and very fun for kids.

Room Tip: Go for one of the treehouses if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were the first guests to stay at Walnut Hill. It was absolutely beautiful! The owners bent over backwards to make sure we had all we needed and wanted. The setting is perfect, so close to Garden of the Gods and Rim Hill. The property is maintained very nicely. I just wish we had more time. The best part had to be the tub in the Master bath, and the King size bed, we really enjoyed both. We LOVED our time in Southern Illinois, we would definitely go through Timber Ridge again, would love to stay in a tree house. Looking forward to our next visit! Thank You!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins

Address: RR2 Box 34A, Near Karbers Ridge Road, Elizabethtown, IL 62931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Elizabethtown
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins is Illinois' 1st and only Tree House and Log Cabin resort. We are located in the Shawnee Hills/Illinois Ozarks region in southeastern Illinois. Enjoy luxurious accommodations in a pet and kid friendly resort atmosphere. Coming in spring 2014 we will be adding a real antique log cabin (circa 1850)to our list of rentals. Come see what all the buzz is about! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.