We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Mackerel

Holy Mackerel
113 South Main Street, Elizabeth, IL 61028
815.858.3636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Elizabeth
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OMG!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is awsome! Outstanding service and excellent menu! The food was very well prepared and delicious! You should call in for resevervations since seating is limited and people traffic high. Do your loved one a favor and treat them to this experience!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homer Glen Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unassuming little dining spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fresh and homemade. Quality is quite high for this little outpost in tiny Elizabeth. Not to be missed and never has been since we first tried it is the seafood tacos appetizer. My husband and I split it, and while expensive, it is filled with high quality seafood. Filets are very tender and desserts are freshly made. We have been coming to Galena since 1980 and love sampling the new restaurants. This one is a keeper!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great eating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The restaurant has a limited menu but everything is fresh and very well prepared. Drink list is limited as well. Overall, a great eating place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is an old church converted to a restaurant. The food selection was good and the service was great as well. When we received our crab cake appetizers...it was all up hill from there. We thought the food was excellent! We did have reservations...may be good if you can call ahead as the did get very busy. However, it seemed as though they would work to try to get anyone in that just walked in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went on Sunday before Memorial Day, early, but without a reservation and they were able to seat 5 of us right away. Reservations recommended, tho. Such a unique place, in a small very old church. Croissants and scones instead of dinner rolls, nice touch. Interior was a little cold (literally!) It was a cold rainy day and it didn't feel like they had their heat on. Could use some candles on the tables to cozy it up too. We had the walleye with asparagus, which was excellent. Beef tenderloin shrimp skewers looked good. Most of us were low-carb eaters, so we passed on the garlic mashed potatoes and I only tasted their mac & cheese which is amazing. Not a huge menu, enough choices to please everyone. A little pricey, but I would eat there again. A nice out-of-the-way place if Galena is too crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Mackerel also viewed

 

Been to Holy Mackerel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Mackerel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.