We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, comfortable, and quiet. I will definitely go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marcotte's Family Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elizabeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marcotte's Family Motel
Save
You added Marcotte's Family Motel to your Saves list
2156 East Route 20, Elizabeth, IL 61028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Richmond, Illinois
1 review
“Friendly, clean, comfortable, and quiet. I will definitely go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

GREAT PRICE! This is a small, very well run family motel. If you are only interested in fancy, state of the art, decorator trimmings look elsewhere. Our room had a nice updated functional clean bathroom. If you need a place to sleep, clean up, and relax for a bit, I would definitely recommend this motel. I actually liked the out of date furniture, and feel comfortable bringing my young son here. Area feels safe too.
My only complaint is our fridge was a little too warm to store our restaurant leftovers. I was just too lazy to mention it to the owners.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
19
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Traveled with a group of 12 motorcyclists to the Galena area just for fun. Donna and Art are fantastic, friendly proprieters who went out of their way to accomodate us and our bikes. Donna's homemade muffins and coffee served on a vintage tray at your door every morning is the BOMB!! The rooms are clean, quaint and quiet. Handstitched quilts are on the very comfortable beds. Bon Fire each night with offers of marshmallows. We would definitely recommend to others and stay here again as an alternative to the standard commercial motels. We had a blast!

Suzy & Andy

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadott, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We were a group of six couples on Harley motorcycles and found this motel. The owners are friendly and even cleaned their garage out so we could park the motorcycles inside because of storms threatening. Rooms are charming and furnished with homey antiques; beds were comfy. Every morning at 7:30 a tray with coffee and warm muffins was left outside our door. At night we sat around the campfire that was started by the owners.

Our destination was Galena, and this motel was less costly than staying in Galena.

We would highly recommend this motel to any traveler!

John and Diane

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed at Marcotte's Family Motel for a one-night stay on our way through to Wisconsin. The motel is fine. As other's have described, it is a bit of a throwback in decor, and has a "gramma's house" feel to it. You will either find this charming, or outdated. The rooms were quite clean. We did however see a few small ants roaming around on the floor in the bathroom. This didn't freak me out to much, because anyone can get a few ants, and a one-time spray or ant trap application will solve this problem. Our room also had a full kitchen, which was a nice surprise. We stayed in room 6. They provide a nice coffee service in the morning, which is left outside the room on a milk pail. It included hot coffee and muffins. The owner's were very nice. The motel is located on a stretch of Route 20 that is fairly isolated and is on a hill. The entrance will creep up on you, so be careful, because people tend to drive fast through this stretch of road. I think the room rates are a little high. This is a $50.00 a night motel, but the place is not bad compared to the ridiculously high priced places in the area that gouge the Galena shopping crowd.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Although it's about 15 miles or so from Galena, this is a great place to stay. With 7 people in our party, we rented the "apartment"--it was perfect. We had our own little kitchen, two baths and enough beds to sleep 8. The owners loaned us their grill, started a campfire for us and let us use their hot tub and even provided robes. The country view is great and has some nice side roads for walking or running. I'd highly recommend this place and would certainly come back again. The morning coffee and muffins were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This motel has a great location just minutes from Galena.
The owners, Art and Donna, are great hosts who make you feel comfotable.
We stayed twice here and you can't beat the spot or the value.
Last year we stayed in a room that has it's own deck which was great to hang out on each evening. I recommend this for couples or small families since the motel does have rooms that are adjoining. Donna also makes great coffee and muffins each morning!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

I grew up in this neck of the woods and I remember when this motel was built back in the 60's. It has been thru many incarnations since then, but its current one as the Marcotte's Family Motel is probably the best yet. My son and I motorcycled 500 miles to visit my mother in Elizabeth, and we decided to give this establishment a try because it was so conveniently located. We rode thru a lot of foul weather that day and arrived soaked, but we were warmly welcomed and the the proprietor let us put our bikes in her personal garage to get them out of the weather. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are quaint, you can't beat the price, and the morning muffins are wonderful! I travel extensively all over the world and am involved in television production. This establishment just has a great retro, step-back-in-time feel. Check 'em out!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marcotte's Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcotte's Family Motel

Address: 2156 East Route 20, Elizabeth, IL 61028
Location: United States > Illinois > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run motel dedicated to our guests' having the best motel experience ever! Whether you're staying in the Galena/JoDaviess County area for a few days or just passing through, we want you to enjoy your stay and recommend us to your friends and family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marcottes Family Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcotte's Family Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.