We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Airport Road, Elgin, IL 60123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harvard, Illinois
1 review
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

In October my husband and I stayed at this hotel. We were attending a wedding reception at your hotel. This newly renovated hotel was clean, the staff was very helpful, and the wedding reception was wonderful. The food at the reception and at breakfast the next day was delcious and plentiful. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure hosting the wedding at our hotel and we're very pleased that you enjoyed the entire experience. Thank you for being our guest and we're looking forward to serving you on a future visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    40
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
15
8
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here two nights for a work conference. The room was nice and the bed was really comfortable. Even though my room was right by the elevators it was quiet. They said the hotel had recently been redone and it actually looks it! I have stayed at other places that claim to be redone that still look old and worn but not this place.

The meeting facilities were decent and the food service was good. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to stay by the elevators it is still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our entire staff prides itself on making sure that every event is problem free no matter how large or small. I will share your kind comments with them and we're looking forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We decided to have our reception there in the newly remodeled ballroom. The venue is gorgeous and clean with up to date décor and creates a very modern and chic atmosphere. Every time we came for a meeting we were greeted by the manager! Mark, Kaitlin and Melody were all helpful, friendly, and receptive! They had everything we needed, and even helped with the set up of the ballroom! Mark even dressed to match my wedding colors! Truly Amazing people and a great event coordinating team!

Everyone loved the cake and the food. 3 weeks later people are still talking about how great everything tasted. The portions were extremely generous! With lots of choices and great appetizers. Our package included a Champaign toast for everyone a reasonable price and a return visit on our one year anniversary.

The set up and the overall room was the perfect size for our 180 guests with enough room for everyone to move and dance. The perfection room also gave people who waned to escape the loud music and talk, without having to sit in the lobby. Truly a great set up for the wedding.

I choose to get ready at the hotel, the room I stayed in was impeccably clean, the linin was crisp with one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. There was enough room in the sweet for the 5 bridesmaids, 3 aunts, and 3 make-up, hair stylists. There was a closet for us to store our dresses. The hotel even brought up chairs for us to use! Defiantly one of the most beautiful rooms I have stayed in. My parents had a double queen room which was just as beautiful, clean and roomy as well!

Even if just staying over night its worth the stay and is reasonably priced.

Loved getting up and having a beautiful breakfast buffet in the lobby with warm and delicious food. By far one of the most friendly and beautiful hotels!

Best of the Best

Room Tip: Ask for coupon 2 dollars at check in for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our wedding and catering team is very special indeed, thanks for recognizing their efforts. Their mission is to make each wedding reception a problem free event and assure the bride of the perfect experience that she deserves. I will pass along your compliments to the team that was proud to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

It's such a quets area and well appointed hotel that I'd happily go back anytime.

Visited on business but really loved this hotel. Very clean hotel. Staff were superb.

Bonus was the sports bar on site. Not being from the US I don't get to see the same types of sports. I really was getting in to the baseball!

Highly recommended if you're in the area.

Room Tip: They have a pool! Remember your swimwear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to have made a good impression during your stay in Elgin, and glad you discovered baseball, it's quite exciting during the world series. Also during my last visit to your country I had the same experience as you did, except I was introduced to snooker, which I miss not having in our country. Thank you for being our guest and look forward to serving you during your next visit to our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed there few weeks ago. I have to say - not a bad place to stay if you are in town for couple of nights. Room was clean, bathroom was also in good shape. They serve breakfast downstairs by lobby, and also after 11 am (if i remember correctly) Bennigan's is open for lunch and dinner. We were there due to the wedding. They did ok with that also. I remember manager making sure that things were moving good in the evening and late at night. I was kinda surprised to see that man first thing in the morning talking to staff by the restaurant and checking things himself (kudos). Hallway to the room, depending where you stay, could be a chalenge for some ( ask for room closer to the elevator ). Over all we had a good experience in that hotel.

Room Tip: If you have problem walking, ask for a room closer to the elevator, they have rather long hallways i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. we are pleased that your stay was enjoyable, we certainly strive to make that an every day occurance to all our guests. Also that was a great tip about asking for a room close to the elevator, since it is a good walk to the end of our hallways. Thanks for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding event. It is conveniently located in Elgin and close to I-90 freeway for easy travelling to the surrounding areas, including Chicago. It is connected to a Bennigans which is open late, so with family it made things interesting. The hotel staff was accommodating and friendly, as well as, they had a really awesome indoor pool that was geared for users all ages. The pool includes a really shallow play area with water features for kids. Will definitely stay at this location again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our kid friendly pool is always the favorite spot for families traveling with children, I am glad your family enjoyed it while attending the wedding. We are looking forward to serving you on your next family getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was recently upgraded. It needed the upgrade. Now it is a clean, comfortabel hotel. The beds are great. The pillows are great. As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I get free internet. The breakfast is good value - or you can get a room rate that includes breakfast. The pool is small but clean. The business center has printers that are easy to use. There is a Bennigan's attached to the hotel so you can have a drink or two in the evening and not need to drive. FOr a room that is under $150 a night (sometime under $100 a night) it is good value.
We hosted a small meeting and found the meeting rooms and catering to be very good also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you made use of all the amenities our renovated full service Holiday Inn provides and that you enjoyed the experience and the value of the product. Thank you for being our guest and we are looking forward to serve you on your next visit to Elgin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest

Address: 495 Airport Road, Elgin, IL 60123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chicago - Northwest is the ideal place to stay for business, leisure and special events. With 7,500 square feet of meeting space, we are perfect for corporate events or elegant weddings. We are minutes from Grand Victoria Casino, Hemmens Cultural Center, Schaumburg Convention Center, Sears Centre, Sears Holdings, Kmart Corporation, Cabela's, Panasonic, JP Morgan Chase & Company, Nissan Forklift. Conveniently located off Interstate 90, only 20 miles from O'Hare International Airport and 40 miles from downtown Chicago. Experience world-class shopping at Woodfield Mall, Algonquin Commons, Huntley Prime Outlets and Springhill Mall. Enjoy family entertainment at Hemmens Cultural Center and Medieval Times. For casino fun visit Grand Victoria Riverboat Casino with newly added nickel slots and International Cuisine. Our hotel features Bennigans Grill & Tavern Holiday Inn's newest restaurant concept! Come in, relax and unwind with a great meal and a cocktail in Bennigans or dine in the privacy of your room. Our fitness facilities include a beautiful pool, a 'Dino' waterslide with a cascading mushroom, oversized whirlpool, and an expanded fitness room with Nautilus equipment. Join us at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chicago - Northwest and you will never leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elgin
Holiday Inn Chicago Northwest
Elgin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.