We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROLLS-ROYCE OWNERS CLUB STAYED HERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Airport Road, Elgin, IL 60123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“ROLLS-ROYCE OWNERS CLUB STAYED HERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here for our Spring Tour in May. Excellent accomodations and great Friday night party in the Bennigans (super food, drink and service). Brand new rooms - pay the little extra and move up to a suite.

Classy, new, chic and great. Included breakfast was ok- service was excellent.

Room Tip: Treat yourself - get a suite. It's worth it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, your group sure added a lot more class to our hotel during your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    36
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
32
14
8
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a few days in Elgin, Illinois and we really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. The rooms have just been renovated and they are spacious and lovely. We had a King Suite which had a fridge and microwave, two flat screen T.V.'s, and a desk to work at which was great for using our laptop, along with a sitting area. It was quiet and very clean. It was still undergoing renovation so the lobby area and fitness room are still being worked on. I'm sure it will look great when it's done.
If you drive north on 31 a few miles, you'll find the Spring Hill Mall and an Olive Garden and Red Lobster. There is coffee in the lobby, which is nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, your enjoyment of our well designed suites is very appreciated by everyone that helped design it, and I'm proud to say that the entire hotel is fully renovated including Bennigan's restaurant, banquet rooms, our lobby, business center, fitness room and pool areas are fully functional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at 8pm to check in to my priceline 3 star winning bid. Check in was pleasant & painless. Hotel is being renovated so several floors were closed. This is probably why I got priceline room for under 100.

I asked if there was a mini fridge & front desk offered to put me on removed floor (6th) which had mini fridges in rooms.

Room was tastefully renovated. Neutral tones, marble bath counter, lighted pull out make up mirror. Nice desk area. modern simple bedding, gone are tacky bedspreads of holiday inn past. Pillows labelled soft & firm.

My first room had problem with stuck sink stopper. Front desk apologized & staff came up with new key to neighboring room.

Bennigans restaurant is in lobby, but desk mentioned it was being renovated too, so might want to check if it is open. I didn't eat there, so couldn't comment on food.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry that you didn't get to experience the completed Bennigan's renovation, I'm certain that the new decor along with a great menu and service to go with a sports bar/elegant bistro theme would have completed your excellent stay. We are looking forward to your next visit so we may showcase our lovely hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Big hotel, it was under construction when i went, but it was nice to have a bar connected to the hotel. They charge alot for breakfast, which wasnt all that fantastic. Very friendly employees.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Jb2186,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Best Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Much better places to stay locally... look elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we have completed 100 % renovation of our hotel which started in January 2012 and finished 6 months later. I hope we get the opportunity to win your business back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were especially pleased with the room housekeeping. The hotel shows some signs of wear, but we also saw that the exterior was undergoing a facelift while we were there - new paint etc. Friendly staff - centrally located in historic Elgin. We would come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. A year ago we had started our renovation by painting the outside of our hotel, I'm happy to say that our entire renovation including rooms public space and restaurants was completed and we are very much looking forward to showcasing it to our loyal customers.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I've stayed at this Holiday Inn 3 times in the last few years, last time being back in May. I visit the area a lot and this is not my favorite hotel but I have to say it has the biggest pool around with a fountain in the middle so it's well liked by kids. The hotel and rooms are clean but you can tell it's getting old without any recent updating. There are several newer hotels in the area for the same price that include free breakfast and some even have free happy hour drinks and food. I'm a big fan of free breakfast so I usually stay at the Comfort Suites and Country Inn in Elgin or even the Holiday Inn Express in Algonquin. They do have a Bennigan's restaurant/bar in the lobby which is nice when you want to have food and drinks without having to drive anywhere. Also within a few minutes drive are several restaurant options, a mall and even the Grand Victoria Casino. O'Hare is about 25-30 mins away if no traffic, if leaving during the morning rush you might want to allow up to an hour to the airport.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you need the extra room and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The changes we went thru this past year are very pleasing indeed, our toatl renovation includes refrigerators in all of our rooms and the suites have microwaves.
We know you have a lot of choices in our area, we're hoping you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest

Address: 495 Airport Road, Elgin, IL 60123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chicago - Northwest is the ideal place to stay for business, leisure and special events. With 7,500 square feet of meeting space, we are perfect for corporate events or elegant weddings. We are minutes from Grand Victoria Casino, Hemmens Cultural Center, Schaumburg Convention Center, Sears Centre, Sears Holdings, Kmart Corporation, Cabela's, Panasonic, JP Morgan Chase & Company, Nissan Forklift. Conveniently located off Interstate 90, only 20 miles from O'Hare International Airport and 40 miles from downtown Chicago. Experience world-class shopping at Woodfield Mall, Algonquin Commons, Huntley Prime Outlets and Springhill Mall. Enjoy family entertainment at Hemmens Cultural Center and Medieval Times. For casino fun visit Grand Victoria Riverboat Casino with newly added nickel slots and International Cuisine. Our hotel features Bennigans Grill & Tavern Holiday Inn's newest restaurant concept! Come in, relax and unwind with a great meal and a cocktail in Bennigans or dine in the privacy of your room. Our fitness facilities include a beautiful pool, a 'Dino' waterslide with a cascading mushroom, oversized whirlpool, and an expanded fitness room with Nautilus equipment. Join us at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chicago - Northwest and you will never leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elgin
Holiday Inn Chicago Northwest
Elgin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.