We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing All Around” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Victoria Casino Elgin

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grand Victoria Casino Elgin
250 South Grove Avenue, Elgin, IL 60120
888-508-1900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Attractions in Elgin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Measuring 400 feet long and 100 feet wide, this picturesque riverboat features 16-foot ceilings and more than 1,000 slots and a variety of table games.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing All Around”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The main lobby is huge, airy and actually quite nice to look at with nice light fixtures. Sadly the casino boat is unlike the lobby. Slots here feel cramped together and, aisles are extra tight to walk through. The feeling inside the casino is cluttered. The staff working the player club in the lobby seemed disinterested and would prefer you did not bother them even with nobody else in line. This was disappointing. The casino has a mix of older digital and manual reel slots but only maybe a dozen penny slots. Most machines were quarters, dollars followed by 2 cent, 5 cent machines. Not enough variety of new machines compared to other casinos in the state. Sadly the slots also do not payout. Many slots don't even pay back your initial bet when hitting multiple symbol. Such a scam. So really you are constanlty losing regardless. The tables seemed overcrowded and not worth the trouble. Won't be back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    36
    12
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
“Logo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I helped the contractors open the boat, & then was employed @ GVC before transfering out to LasVegas to go to slot school for Mandalay Bay-----while coming home to visit relitives "I went over to my boat" I think that in was "sortta stupid by changing the casino logo from Victoria to a Crown" the reason why I say that is because it looks a lot like the logo of "The 4 Queens Casino
that is located in downtown Vegas on Freemont Street" now I know how hard it was/is when it comes to getting players on the water, but, it "might just be a smart idea to change the Casino Logo back to Victoria" so that if some of the players that might live here in Elgin have a "BAD PROBLEM while visiting 4 Queens in Vegas' that they don't bring their problems back to GVC"

Christopher Blocker----Maintance

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Quick stop at this riverboat casino”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I were in the Elgin area for a youth hockey showcase. We had some time between games, so we stopped by this casino for a while. We put a couple $20's into some machines (gone quickly) and played a few hands of BJ (won enough to cover slot losses plus a few $$ more).

For a casino, this place was pretty small. Table game limits were high (BJ tables were $25+/hand) with poor rules (6:5, CSM's). Craps was $15 min (meaning a realistic min of $18 for placing 6 & 8). I guess they can get away with the high min's and poor rules due to they have no local competition. I guess I'm spoiled by my yearly trip to Vegas where you can find great tables with low min's on Fremont street. Even the indian casinos in northern Michigan and Wisconsin have much better table game rules and lower min bets. My rating of "poor" is not a "sour grapes" review because I lost money (I actually won a small amount). Rather, it is based on my experience in gambling in close to 100 different casinos (Vegas and Indian). Though not aesthetically a dump (the place had a fair visual appeal), it ranks near the bottom of all the other casino's I have visited.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago burbs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Feeling the strain?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Once upon a time this place had a buffet to write home about. Took many a visiting relative there for the food as much as the casino.
Now the quality seems to be less - perhaps the ecenomy has hit them too....and the food selections have paid the price. Buckinghams is good, and the service is great.Thier $20 specials are worth the drive.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware of scammer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Yesterday Evening in the Grand Victoria parking lot,man tried to deceive-my wife and three police officers with my wife has scratched his car door-White-Toyota SUV.My wife go out from casino to the parking lot where Three police cars became around 12.30 am.But scratch not to my pick-up truck it was 15 inches above the bumper,also my wife parked on 9.30 pm and a man parked in the parking lot on 10.30 pm,one hour after my wife.My wife was very upset and had lost in the parking lot about two hours to finish investigation.Did the Police should not punish a man with purpose prepared a scam?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Victoria Casino Elgin also viewed

 

Been to Grand Victoria Casino Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Victoria Casino Elgin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.