We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2270 Point Boulevard, Elgin, IL 60123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Florissant
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel to attend a family event in the area. The staff was friendly. We had a non-smoking room with king-sized bed and the room also had a small couch. The bed was perfect and the room/bathroom both were very clean. The hotel provides a hot breakfast in the mornings which consists of juices/milk/coffee, cereal, muffins, hot oatmean with various toppings like granola, scrambled eggs with various toppings like cheese, bits of ham, etc. This hotel also has a pool which looked very clean, but we did not use it. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgincountry, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again on your future stays in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    35
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
13
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati Oh.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the price was reasonable. The same review that could be written for hundreds of motels, except for one thing. Real Metal tableware, china plates, and bowls and real glasses. No countless plastic trash bags bulging with styrofoam and plastic being dragged out back and thrown in the dumpster. Aside from the added civility this gave to breakfast, it was refreshing to see a company taking some responsibility concerning the environment. Reason enough to stay there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was working on a project nearby and stayed 2/3 nights a week from June through August. The entire staff was excellent from the start to finish.

The hotel was doing some nice upgrades throughout my stay from upgrading linens to real silverware , plates and glasses (yes glass) for the breakfast buffet

I used the meeting room twice for some staff meetings and this was excellent as well

I also recommend Jimmy's and around the corner is a really nice Italian cafe it's not open on weekends, but excellent food

Thanks to the entire staff - you made my long stays from home much more comfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We reserved a non-smoking room for two nights, which we reduced to one night at the last minute, and thank goodness we did. Non-smoking is extremely important to us, as I have a lung disease and get very sick when exposed to smoke or chemical smells. Upon check-in, we were told by the clerk not to be alarmed at the smoke smell on our floor, because our room was non-smoking. Alarm bells went off, and I told her that wasn't going to work. We asked if we could have a room on a specifically non-smoking floor, and were told no. No attempt to work with us, just "no." Immediately upon stepping off the elevator on our floor, the smoke smell was so thick, it was disgusting. While our room itself wasn't smoky, by the time we unloaded our luggage and went in and out a few times, the entire room smelled from the door being open. We spent an awful night counting the moments until we could check out, and left with all of our belongings smelling terrible. The hotel is also outdated and could really use a facelift. I'm sorry, but I will never come NEAR this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgincountry, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
I am truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Your comments are appreciated and taken seriously. Although we only have a few smoking rooms in our hotel, they were all occupied during the time of your stay and the smell did linger in the halls. We are currently considering eliminating the smoking rooms from our hotel because of situations such as this. I am also sorry that we were unable to offer another alternative in accommodations due to our occupancy level. Please be assured that your concern has been heard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff allowed us an early check-in, which was helpful because we were going to a wedding nearby. Comfortable and clean place with decent, filling breakfast. Easy highway access. A good place for a night's stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The Country Inn was clean, quiet and easily accessible from the highway. It was the perfect place for us to stay for one night while on a cross-country road trip. The front desk process was quick and they told us that we would receive a 10% discount at Jimmy's Char House by showing our room key. The restaurant exceeded our expectations, but keep in mind that we were not looking for ultra-fine dining. If in this area, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We used accumulated points to get a free evening at the Elgin Country Inn. From the staff to the room to the breakfast everything was very good. In addition, my wife and I split a better than average steak dinner at the nearby Jimmy's Char House.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin

Address: 2270 Point Boulevard, Elgin, IL 60123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin Hotel Elgin
Country Inn Elgin
Elgin Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.