We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for road trip, very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1780 Capital Street, Elgin, IL 60124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Elgin
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for road trip, very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at candlewood while on a cross-country road trip to move out west. Hotel is located very close to I-90 which was important. Room was very clean, bed.was comfy and felt comfortable about leaving car I'm parking lot. Front desk was friendly and helpful also.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
5
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Our 3-night stay at the Candlewood Suites in Elgin was great. From my understanding, the hotel has only been open for about a year. The room and hotel in general were exceptionally clean. The staff was very friendly. They even have free (yes I said free) on-site laundry for their guests! Had we stayed longer, I would have definitely taken advantage of that. My only complaint is that the refrigerator in our room was noisy. If I'm ever in the area again, I'll stay at the Candlewood.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks over Christmas. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The entire staff, but especially Alisa, went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Our ice maker didn't work so they brought us ice several times. The room was very spacious & clean. They have a full size frig, sink, two burner stove, microwave & even a dishwasher. They have dishes & pots & pans. I liked it because we didn't have to go out for every meal. The bed was very comfortable & the bathroom was a nice size. The location was perfect for us, since all our family is on the west side of Elgin. It was a little tricky to find the first time. They also have a nice fitness room & a free laundry. they do have a small pantry type store & free coffee. I used their computer in the lobby before we left to print boarding passes & a couple last minute needs. I needed a couple of envelopes & stamps, which I offered to pay for, but they just gave them to me. They also had free wifi in the rooms. We will definitely stay there next year when we go back for Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

I was travel weary, and was pleasantly surprised by the wonderful rooms. I would highly recommend this hotel to all travelling around Chicago - nice place, newer, great laundry facility that is free, travelled with a pet and was very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel was clean, the room was a comfortable size and nicely furnished. The pillowtop mattress was amazing. The full size fridge and mini-kitchen would make this especially comfortable for an extended stay. There's also a full computer/printer workstation in the lobby which was great for me to handle some last minute business.

My biggest complaint is that there are no ice machines in this hotel. I asked the staff and they told me I had to make ice in my room. When I'm a bit winded from carrying my things into my room and I'd like a drink of cold water from that doesn't help me. They do have cold drinks for sale near the lobby but one bottle of water/pepsi/etc is $2.50, which is obscene in my opinion. Breakfast items are also similarly price gouged. You're better off going to the 7-11 down the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

It is not the easiest to get to but well worth finding your way. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, wy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We found the room to be nice and the housekeeping was more than adequate although there were a few spots on the carpet that should have been removed prior to our arrival. The room size was good. The front desk person gave us some erroneous instructions for getting to our preferred restaurant which caused us numerous extra miles of driving before correcting the error. There was no continental breakfast that we saw. It was just a bit confusing trying to find our way to the hotel after leaving I-90 so you need to make certain that you understand the arrival instructions.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago

Address: 1780 Capital Street, Elgin, IL 60124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Elgin Northwest Chicago, IL is conveniently located 20 minutes from Chicago s O Hare International Airport ORD and only 40 miles from downtown Chicago off Interstate 90. If you are coming to the area for business we are only minutes from Sears Centre, Sears Holdings, Kmart Corporation, Cabela's, Panasonic, JP Morgan Chase & Company and Nissan Forklift. While in the area be sure to experience world-class shopping at Woodfield Mall, Algonquin Commons, Huntley Prime Outlets and Springhill Mall or visit nearby Grand Victoria Casino, Hemmens Cultural Center or the Schaumburg Convention Center. We understand that extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your special needs. Candlewood Suites is designed from the ground up and our all suite hotel features full kitchens complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free, high speed Internet or relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites gives you the amenities that make you feel at home. When you come to Chicago we know what you need. Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month or even a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago Hotel Elgin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.