We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Station II

Sushi Station II
2486 Randall Road, Elgin, IL 60123
8477830040
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 175 Restaurants in Elgin
Price range: $15 - $30
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We've been going here for years and have never had bad food or a bad experience! Anytime we bring sushi newbies they love it! So many different and delicious flavor combinations, it's difficult not to find something you'd enjoy. It's great to be able to try smaller portions off the belt or order slightly larger portions directly from the kitchen. One of favorite places!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Standard sushi fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was OK but not west coast sushi. The seats were way to close together. The idea that you could pick your own food as it travelled on the conveyor belt was cool though you have to watch what you grab because the color of the dishes identifies the cost as posted. It can be quite costly. But for a nice quick meal that not uncomfortable eating it's a good spot. Loved the seaweed salad.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEast, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best sushi I had so far..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

There is a wide range of sushi, appetizers and desserts. Good value and instant service as you sit, because sushi readily available on the belt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good quality for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have been coming to this Sushi Station since it opened a couple of years ago. The service is great from the moment you are greeted at the door until you are thanked at the door upon leaving.
The setup is great and it is nice to see the sushi wind its way around the conveyor belt. The menus and sushi guides are very helpful in making selections - be sure to catch the flyers around your seats for lunch and seasonal specials.
My personal favorites there are the salmon, Texas Roll, and Bostation Roll. For an appetizer, the Volcano Poppers are excellent - jalapenos stuffed with tuna and cream cheese then lightly fried tempura-style.

The place really picks up at lunch during the week with all the local workers, so be prepared to wait if you come in a group. It also makes for a good date place, as picking out sushi and sharing plates can be fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

At this restaurant the sushi comes around on a covered (refrigerated) conveyer belt. Everything on the conveyer belt is priced according to the color plate it is on. At the end, the wait staff will count up how many plates you have of each color, and that's your bill. You can also order things off the menu, sushi or hot items.

We have been here several times, but this last time was not our best visit. We were there at 5:30pm on a Saturday night, and there were lots of empty spaces on the conveyer belt. We were disappointed that many of our favorite dishes were not on the belt. You can wait while the belt cycles around and hope they refill, but there can be a lot of waiting.

The quality of the sushi is good, and the atmosphere is nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Station II also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Station II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Station II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.