We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located Yet Still Somewhat Secluded and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Inn to your Saves list
Delta Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1509 Hampton Drive, Effingham, IL 62401 (Formerly Effingham Hampton Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Effingham
Geneva, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located Yet Still Somewhat Secluded and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here in October for work. The hotel was close enough to the interchange that I could walk within 15 minutes to most of the conference center, other hotels, and restaurants. Yet the hotel seemed tucked back off the main road and was very quiet. The main offering for breakfast changed each day, and the overall breakfast was good with a wide variety of options. For dinner, the Lone Star Steakhouse was right next door. And for snacks the lobby always had coffee and tea and either cookies or apples.

I also liked that the Effingham Visitor Center was within walking distance. They had a lot of good information about what to do in Effingham and the surrounding area. They also had information about a public transit system offered throughout the county at a reasonable cost for anyone who didn't want to drive.

The only thing I didn't care much for was the pool - it was small and there wasn't much room to walk around or place anything. But since I was there for business and didn't have much free time anyway, it didn't make too much difference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Delta Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for your response posting. We really appreciate your input and we take every response to heart. We are very thrilled that yiour stay here with us was an all around good stay. We are constantly trying to improve our hotel to meet the needs of our guests. We hope to see you at our hotel again in the future!!
Sincerely,
Angie Jones
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    34
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
23
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The room at the Hampton Inn was lovely. The bedding was exceptional and it was like sleeping on a cloud. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast offered many choices. There was coffee and home made cookies in the lobby for snacking. Be aware that If you dine at the Lone Star Steakhouse, which is adjacent to the Hampton Inn, and show your motel key they will give you 10% off the check.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Delta Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for posting your review on this site. We appreciate your response as it is viewed by possible future
guests. It is funny that you stated our beds were like sleeping on a cloud. Ironically enough the bedding is called Cloud 9 Bedding for that very reason. We get so many compliments off the bedding and we are pleased you had a restful night at our hotel. Please keep us in mind on your next trip through. We would love to have you stay with us again!!
Thank you again for your time and response.
Sincerely,
Angie Jones
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

From top to bottom, good stay. Check in: Pleasant young man, Helpful and efficient. Room: Clean, Bedding sooo comfy, and best of all this Hotel actually had a luggage rack besides the chest for a suitcase, For once we did not have to put a suitcase on a chair or floor. (Don't Hotel Managers realize that if 2 people check in, that generally means 2 suitcases! ) Breakfast was good, liked the french toast. Would recommend...Rates were reasonable because we got 20% off on a special, plus 10% for AAA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Delta Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for your response. We appreciate you taking the time to post your views about our hotel. Our Cloud 9 Bedding is definitely a high selling point for us as it is extremely comfortable. We completely understand about the luggage rack. I've actually stayed at hotels that didn't supply one and it is a little inconvenient. It is a must at all of our locations. We wanted to let you know that your response was received and reviewed. We take all of our responses to heart and we are very appreciated. We hope to see you again at our hotel!!
Sincerely,
Angie Jones
Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here one night for a business trip and Cheryl, the front desk person, was great. She is a 1-woman show there, checking everyone in, making follow-up calls to see if the room is to your liking, unclogging toilets, setting out cookies, etc. And she does it all with a big smile. My room was super clean and cozy. Love the clean fresh duvets instead of the regular scary comforters. They had a nice hot breakfast. My boss stayed in a room closer to the highway and he said it was pretty loud, so I suggest asking for an interior room, or be on the end opposite of the highway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie_676, Manager at Delta Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for posting your response on the site. We appreciate your feedback as it allows others to get a little input on our hotel as they are searching for a place to stay. Our breakfast is definitely an area that we are constantly trying to improve for our guests, so I am extremely glad to hear our efforts are paying off. We take every response to heart and we wanted to let you know that your response was received and reviewed. Thank you again for your input and we hope to see you soon!!
Sincerely,
Angie Jones
Manager
Hampton Inn, Effingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Typical Hampton Inn... Clean bed, clean hotel, nice staff, "generic" free breakfast. Located right beside a steak spot. Love that there is an indoor pool. Convenient to "everything"... Walmart, chain restaurants, etc.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

OK, maybe not the middle of nowhere but there's not much around here and the only reason you're looking for a hotel in Effingham is probably because you're either driving on 57 or on 70 and this town is like America's biggest intersection. And this hotel is literally on the off ramp. Couldn't be easier access.

What a pleasant surprise it was when we arrived at the Hampton Inn to find a hotel so well maintained, sparkling clean and with a helpful, smiling staff. And by the way, when I say clean, I mean you can literally eat off the floor. The hotel is small, about 67 rooms if I remember correctly and there's a lovely indoor pool with easy access from all the rooms. Breakfast is in a small dining room, very B&B-like.

A big plus if you're a steak lover - right next door to the hotel is the Lone Star Steakhouse with some fantastic food - meats and otherwise. Traveling with two huge teenage boys, this was a great place to have dinner.

One thing I'd mention as a bit of a let down is the carpet of cigarette butts next to the side entrance. I was going to upload a picture I took of this "carpet" but decided against it because I don't want to create the impression this is something major. I am sure if anyone from the hotel reads this they'll happily take care of it. And I just don't get smokers - there's an ashtray right there by the door!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonestown, PA
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hamptons are our hotel chain of choice. Not too expensive, either. So far, all have been clean, professional, and consistent. This one did not disappoint us. Always a comfortable bed, bright and clean room and bathroom, and a great, balanced breakfast. Very convenient to the freeway, and they provided a great coupon for the "rib restaurant" next door. Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Inn

Address: 1509 Hampton Drive, Effingham, IL 62401 (Formerly Effingham Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Delta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to see the Original Herbie the Love Bug, a Priceless Corvette or The World's Largest Cross? Don't miss seeing the Sculptures on the Avenue while you shop in the quaint and historic downtown of Effingham Illinois. Once you arrive at the Delta Inn you will have complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room and lobby, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you at when you stay with us at the Delta Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Delta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Effingham Hampton Hotel Effingham
Hampton Inn Effingham
Effingham Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.