We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1811 W Fayette Ave., PO Box 663, Effingham, IL 62401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Effingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Front desk person, Devon was wonderful. His customer service skills were great. BW should note this as the check out person was not so great. She acted like I was an interruption. Not friendly at all. This place needs an overhaul. Clean but very dated rooms. Breakfast room too small.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Raintree_Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for tell us what you liked & you didn't like about our hotel. Without feedback from our guests, improving & understanding our challenges becomes more difficult. When our guests inform us about something or someone that did not make their stay the best it could have been, we address the concern.

Our breakfast area is still in the final stages of renovation & when it is completed I hope the space will seem larger.

I appreciate you noticing the cleanliness of our hotel. We take great pride in ensuring we remain the top 20% of Best Western branded properties.

I hope you will stay with us again. Thank you again for your feedback!

Brian - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    44
    9
    9
See reviews for
41
58
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My fiance and I stayed here one night, the room was nice, clean, the staff friendly, and the bed comfy although small. There was a breakfast provided, it was horrible, they are renovating, the breakfast area so we had to go to the restaurant, in the lounge area. The biscuits were cold, the gravy, luke warm, the waffle was good, you make it yourself, the apple juice was weak. We would stay again, I do hope they get the renovations done soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Raintree_Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback!

I can understand your discontent over our temporary breakfast accomodations when you were at our hotel. Our renovations in the breakfast area are about 98% complete & we are now serving our breakfast in back where it should be - in our lobby.

In addition, I have ordered some new breakfast equipment including a chaffing dish for the biscuits & gravy in order to ensure both the gravy stays warm & also the biscuits.

Thank you again for your comments!

Brian - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stopped here for one night, on our way from New Mexico to visit family in Indiana. We had our puppy with us and found this hotel identified as "pet friendly". It is in a convenient location, just off the freeway. It is clearly an older hotel, but our room was very nice (though it was small) and it appears to have been updated fairly recently. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom very clean. The room was located inside the building but we had easy access to the exit to take the pup out when necessary. There is a restaurant with the hotel and it seemed to be quite popular, but the menu had limited choices, but there were several other local restaurants nearby to order take-out. I would definitely stay here again if our travels take us in that direction.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stopped for the night in Effingham on our way from Cincinnati to Kansas City, and stayed at the Best Western Raintree. Our room was not anywhere close to fancy but clean and comfortable. I know this sounds a little odd, but I was especially impressed by the fresh-looking bright white silicone grout around the tub, as there was not a speck of dirt or mildew. The free breakfast was OK. For the money, we were both very pleased with the value.

Room Tip: I don't normally like rooms with doors to the outside, but in this case, it came in really handy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I wasn't expecting much as this looked like an older motel in a truck stop area. However, the room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was pleasant. There was an outside door to the parking area and one onto an inside corridor for access to ice, vending, and the office area. The sink area was small, but the addition of a shelf over the sink allowed for a place for toiletries. Unfortunately, the very small area for the toilet and tub had no outlet for a night light which is very annoying for people like me who hate turning on a bright light during the night. There is a restaurant next door with a varied dinner menu if you don't want to drive to one of Effingham's many restaurants. Breakfast offerings were small, but still a step up from Danish and coffee that I have been offered in some other motels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were just on our way through and stopped for the night. The room was big and clean but we were woken up during the night twice with a large truck turning in the parking lot behind the hotel. Breakfast was the usual "hot" breakfast. The sausage gravy was good but the biscuits were pretty hard. Overall a good place to stop over.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANDUSKY, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were very happy with the desk staff and the room, not happy with the bartender and selection of TV program and lack of attention. The girl at the desk was very helpful in getting us a room on the ground floor with a door to the outside so we could walk our dog quickly and easily when needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn

Address: 1811 W Fayette Ave., PO Box 663, Effingham, IL 62401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn!Located right off the highway, this hotel offers easy access to Harley Barn, Effingham Performance Center, Lake Sara and Corvette Funfest Car Shows.Those dropping in for some rest or those on a vacation will enjoy that the BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn is located near the Effingham County Fairgrounds, Cross Country Mall, Petro Stopping Center, Lake Sara and Effingham Performance Center. This Illinois hotel is just five miles away from the beach, fishing and golf. Many guests also stay at the BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn for the area's events, including Corvette Funfest Car Shows. Those visiting students or faculty at the area's schools will have just a short commute - Effingham Public Schools is just one mile away from this Illinois Best Western. Lakeland College and Eastern Illinois University are also nearby. Business travelers can enjoy easy access to Telemind Corporation and Open Prairie Ventures Corporation. Traveling to and from this Effingham, IL hotel is a breeze with Mattoon Airport just 28 miles away and easy access to the Greyhound bus terminal. Feel right at home in the well-appointed rooms at this pet-friendly Illinois hotel with comfortable beds and generous amenities. The spacious, clean rooms at this Effingham, IL hotel offer high-speed Internet access, a coffeemaker and cable satellite television with HBO®. Get the perfect start to each day at this Illinois Best Western with a complimentary continental breakfast, including waffles, toast, cereal, fruit, oatmeal and biscuits and gravy. Unwind at the onsite Chaser's cocktail lounge or soak up some sun at the outdoor seasonal pool. Guests can also enjoy the convenience of an onsite restaurant, complimentary coffee, free popcorn and free parking at the BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn. Truck/RV parking is also available at this Effingham hotel - making this the perfect place to stay if you need to rest while on the road. For an affordable trip to Effingham, IL, reserve a stay at the BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Effingham
Effingham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.