We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place along the interstate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 North Henrietta Street, Effingham, IL 62401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Effingham
Quad Cities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place along the interstate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 stayed here one night during a road trip. This hotel is conveniently located off the interstate and close to restaurants. We had a two room suite and it provided us with great space to relax. Staff was friendly and the breakfast met our needs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    30
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
34
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was just passing through and I was too sick to continue my trip any further, so I decided to stay at this hotel. I was on the fourth floor and I did not hear any road noise during my stay. The beds were comfortable and the hotel has a list of nearby restaurants that deliver. I would stay here again. It is one of the nicer Fairfield Inn's I have stayed at. It is a little tricky to get too based on the signs and you will have to go down a rough road to get here. I was able to get a lower rate by mentioning the "special rates" sign they had in the front, which lowered the nightly rate by around $30.

My only complaint is the breakfast. It seemed pretty bad and they had no healthy options. The protein source was a boiled egg. No scrambled eggs, bacon, or sausage her. There isn't much to do in the area, but that should be expected. This hotel seems to target the travelers who are to weary to continue their drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was recently in Effingham for a training session with my company and stayed at the Fairfield. It was easy to find and proved to be a very pleasant oasis after a long day of training. The staff was very pleasant and met my every need. The rooms in the hotel are very nice and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a good value and a nice place to stay. The beds were extremely comfortable, or maybe I was just so exhausted. Give this hotel a try next time you are in Effingham.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur,California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is our first stay at a Fairfield Inn, although we are Marriott members. Welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. CLEAN! The bathroom vents were clean and clear! Way better than most hotels.The food area was clean and comfortable. It is clear whoever is in charge of the breakfast area also pays attention to detail. Microwave oatmeal was available, but the line was for the homemade oatmeal along with brown sugar, raisins, nuts and butter. The banana bread was perfect.Coffee excellent.Good tea selection. Fruit and eggs and other goodies. We stayed in December and January with our two standard poodles. There is plenty of outside space to walk and most people picked up after their pets so the outside was tidy. One recommendation: book early. It is a popular place and with good reason. Big thumbs up for the housekeepers!

Room Tip: The rooms away from the Interstate are quieter, if truck noise bothers you. Both sides were OK with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It's very clean, to the point that it still feels like a brand new hotel. It is also pet friendly, which is a plus: I typically find I have to lower my expectations and fear the worst when taking my dog to a pet friendly hotel.

My wife and I stopped here on a lengthy road trip. The hotel is right off the highway, and further down the road are several restaurants. In short, there are plenty of options for takeout or eating out. While the clerk wasn't well versed on options in the area, the staff was otherwise very helpful.

Breakfast could have been better. My wife described it as a "carb party" -- there are a lot of options, but none of them are very feeling. There are no eggs, no meats, etc. Plenty of things to sample, but if you're on a trip like us, you'll be hungry again before you know it.

That is, in part, why I docked it a star: if this hotel was about $30 cheaper, I'd rate it much higher, but for the premium price they're charging, I expected a little bit more. I have no regrets, and would tentatively recommend it. If you can get a rate closer to $100 than $150, this is a no-brainer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely no complaints. Very nice lobby and breakfast area with fireplace. The were more items for breakfast than most Fairfields. Room was very clean.

There was one thing which I found odd though. I've stayed in Marriott hotels for over 25 years and this was the first time I've ever been asked to sign a "hotel policies" form stating I agreed to quiet time between X-Y hours (whatever) and the hotel had the right to do this and that. It was a full page. Not a problem, just odd but they do have a nice property and maybe helps them keep it that way.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've been traveling to visit family for many years now and find we are always happy with Fairfield Inns. This was our first time at this property and found it to be of the same high quality and standards as other Fairfield's. The room was exceptionally clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast was more than sufficient. (The biscuits and gravy were very good!) We had a king suite and the room was spacious and well laid out, our bed was very comfortable, and the internet service wasn't the fastest, but worked fine for our needs. The parking lot was well lit and we felt safe at this location. Speaking of location...there is one thing that we find is true of many hotel properties these days and that is many of them are located near the Interstates. Obviously that is for convenience to us travelers and we appreciate not needing to drive far off the traveled route to get lodging. But, this means you do hear the Interstate traffic and sometimes this can be somewhat loud. Overall, we could not have happier with our stay here at Effingham Fairfield Inn! Try any Fairfield Inn and you won't be disappointed for the money!

Room Tip: Top floor, back side is always our preference for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham

Address: 1111 North Henrietta Street, Effingham, IL 62401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
#2 Family Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham Hotel Effingham
Fairfield Inn And Suites Effingham
Fairfield Inn Effingham
Fairfield Effingham
Effingham Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.