We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 North Henrietta Street, Effingham, IL 62401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Effingham
International falls mn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We could find nothing wrong with this motel. Friendly staff, clean rooms, pet friendly and a wonderful breakfast with way to many choices. It was great. Will stay again. Super bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
32
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SAULT SAINTE MARIE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

The room was the standard Fairfield. It had a micro & fridge and the Super Comfy beds. Each bed had 5 pillows. The bad: tiny pool desperately needing to be cleaned. Scum rings around pool and hot tub. Hot tub wasn't hot. 7 or 8 used towels lying around. Granted whomever used them should have put them in hamper, but they obviously had been there a while. There were several missing tiles on floor and a big muddy (I hope it was mud) puddle on one end of pool. The good: best hotel breakfast bar. Waffles, breakfast sand.,omelets, oatmeal, cereal, various breads, yogurt, cottage cheese, fruit, biscuits & gravy, etc....Something for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed just one night at this hotel, but we were very pleased with our experience. The hotel was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were there for a family party and we found their facilities to be more than adequate. The staff was also very hospitable and allowed our group of 20 to hang out in the lobby until midnight (when we dispersed on our own :). The free coffee in the lobby was great and the breakfast was on par with any I've had. The only possible "negative", according to the kids, was that the pool was on the small side. Still, an excellent place to stay when you are in Effingham!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This was a good choice. The room was super clean and the bathroom as well. I did not give the highest rating because the bed was too hard for my husband- ie, a standard hotel bed and nothing special. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices and that area was immaculate as well. As an FYI- there is a healthfood store right across the street- within walking distance. I mention this because some of us with diet limitations will find this a bonus and a reason to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice, clean pet friendly hotel. Perfect for a stop during a road trip. Near lots of dining choices. Easy access to the interstate. Lots of grassy area to walk the pups. If you aren't in the first floor, take the stairs. The elevator is unbelievably slow.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

It looks like there are predominantly good reviews on this facility and I have to agree. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, well maintained facility and a good breakfast with lots of hot choices all made it a good stay. It is hard to go wrong with this brand.
Neither an apology or explanation was given for the 5 minute delay at check in. I rang the little bell several times and went looking for the receptionist. She finally showed up and the rest of the check in was flawless. The gal serving breakfast made up for that delay with her attentiveness the next morning.
It is a small thing, but the H/AC unit was controlled from a thermostat across the room, but the controls are still on the under window unit. They just don’t work. Maybe we are dense but it took a while to discover that our adjustments were futile. Then when we discovered our error, the unit was so powerful that the room had a nasty breeze. We moved the overstuffed chair in front of it and, problem solved.
Nuf complaining. It was a great stay.

Room Tip: On floors 2-4, room 8 is next to the elevator. It is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

picked up a hotel saver on the road which advertised prices in the $70-75 range. showed up at hotel about 630pm and was told that those prices were no good and the only thing they had was for $120, no AAA discount, no nothing...we were tired so we didn't try anywhere else, but I will not stop there again. hotel was nice, but not $120 nice in Effingham, Illinois! "Hot" breakfast was also ok. Check in clerk was short and snippy, not very friendly. All in all a less than favorable experience.

Room Tip: call ahead and negotiate a rate before you show up and get taken for a lot more than the room is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham

Address: 1111 North Henrietta Street, Effingham, IL 62401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
#2 Family Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham Hotel Effingham
Fairfield Inn And Suites Effingham
Fairfield Inn Effingham
Fairfield Effingham
Effingham Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.