We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Effingham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of firefly grill

firefly grill
1810 Avenue Of Mid America, Effingham, IL 62401-4576
217-342-2002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
firefly grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 57 restaurants in Effingham
Price range: $6 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Keller Drive
Description: Firefly Grill is a modern roadhouse restaurant located on the shores of Kristie Lake. Chef Niall Campbell and his wife Kristie own and operate this oasis of American fresh cuisine in the heart of the Midwest. Firefly's menu changes daily and boasts fresh seafood, oak fired steaks and brick oven pizzas. Firefly uses local ingredients whenever possible and fresh herbs and vegetables straight from their very own garden!
Columbus, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great find in Effingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We found this restaurant here on TA; and it was all that it was said to be!

The atmosphere was modern and exciting with a classic and country twist. Their menu is wide ranging, with well paired food, and well prepared.

This place is a must if you are looking for a good quality meal in the Effingham area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about us! We truly appreciate the kind words about our food and atmosphere! We'll be sure to pass your compliments along to our staff! Come back & visit us again anytime! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    199
    57
    33
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ct
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“wonderful surprise lunch in Effingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just had lunch at the Firefly grill, and it was delicious. With four of us, we were able to sample a few different items, but the winner was their burgers and fries. They use Allen Bros meat, which sells prime meat from Chicago. The blend for the burgers is prime rib, brisket and chuck, which makes the most juicy tender burger I can remember eating. Juice ran down my chin. The garlic fries are perfect, crispy on the outside and soft in the middle.
Best dessert was the Bread pudding, with pear compote on top and pumpkin ice-cream. The Chocolate ice cream was better, but the bread pudding was incredible.
Fantastic service, much faster than I was prepared for, and so friendly.
Don't miss it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your kind review! We love hearing feedback from our customers and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experiences with us. It's wonderful to hear that you were pleased with both the food & the service! Hope you'll stop back by again soon! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dining in a small town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We dined at the Firefly Grill while in Effingham for the FunFest weekend! The restaurant was suggested to us by the tourist information centre and although reluctant we were very impressed! The food quality was fantastic and everything was delicious and very fresh at a reasonable price! To our surprise we also found Australian Lamb on the menu which was delicious and by far the best dining experience we had in regional US! They also had many other fresh local & imported ingredients on the menu at a very reasonable price! Would definately dine here again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your compliments! We are so happy that you enjoyed the quality of our food, especially the Australian Lamb! We will definitely share your comments with our kitchen staff – they will be delighted! Please come back and see us again soon! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palestine, il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“overpriced and overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Main complaint, they do not allow substitutions. I did not like two of the items that came with my 34.00 entree. They would not substitute something else I would have preferred. Of course I could have paid more for ala carte but did not feel I should have to do so for the price. Most places 34.00 would have bought a salad, entree and vegetable and probably bread, but not here. Not enough food for the money, also presentation is lacking, food is on small plate with no garnishment or embellishment. My steak was good, but that was all I could eat on the plate. The customer is not always right at this establishment. What harm would it have been to substitue fries or regular mashed potatoes and corn for the asparagus and trucker mashed potatoes that came with the dish? Noisy place, feels like a barn. Left hungry and frustrated after a bill of about 100.00 for three people. Will not return there. It is not the wonderful place people write about, especially if you are a picky eater. I could only find one thing on the menu that I would even eat, and was frustrated.Congratulations for losing a customer over your substitution policy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Henry, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit with us & that there wasn't more on our menu that intrigued you. We offer 33 different, made from scratch to order, entrees ranging from $11.50 to $44 for our 10oz Allen Brothers Steak. Is it possible that you received the specials menu only? If so, we certainly apologize. Your experience is extremely important to us & we are always seeking to improve our offerings. Please contact me at 217-342-2002 with any information about dishes you would like to see on our menu. Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have eaten here on a few occasions. It is overrated in my opinion. The food I have ordered has been good, but not over the top great. The prices are high for some items on their menu. It has always seemed to be rather noisy when I've been there for dinner and lunch.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our restaurant & for the high rating. Regarding the price, our goal is to provide a diverse menu with a large price range to hopefully satisfy all of our customers. We also source incredible local ingredients that are sustainable, beyond organic, and grow many in our garden. Please consider sitting out on our porch area on your next visit with us. It is separate from our main dining area & offers a quieter atmosphere. Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed firefly grill also viewed

 

Been to firefly grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage firefly grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.