We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal for your buck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niemerg's Steak House

Niemerg's Steak House
1410 West Fayette Avenue, Effingham, IL 62401
(217) 342-3921
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Effingham
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Vandalia, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Meal for your buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Neimergs offers a wide sellection on thir menu, always great specials, a well stocked salad bar, friendly quick staff, and a clean establishment. Excellent place to eat morning, noon, or night. Oh and they have a bar attached as well. Close to some area hotels too. I recommend this resturant for anyone looking for a quality meal at a decent price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    57
    23
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton,Oh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch and delicious pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have no qualms about other reviews. But no one mentioned dessert: they have delicious pies.
Today I had coconut cream pie; was melt in mouth delicious. Serving was rather large and reasonably priced. Lunch specials very reasonable and delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penney Farms, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This restaurant is very popular with local people and we were there on a Saturday evening, so you can imagine the crowded parking lot and people waiting outside. We went in fully expecting to have our name added to the list of a dozen or more already waiting for tables. Once inside, however, we discovered that it is really two restaurants in one. The main dining room did indeed have a waiting list. But to the left there was coffee shop which appealed to us. While it was almost full, a booth had just come open and we were seated immediately. There were sandwiches and dinner entrees to choose from. The latter come with soup or salad and the choice of potato or rice. My partner had beef tips and a garden salad while I had the cod almandine with a Caesar salad. We both had baked potato. The food came quickly and was very good and the prices were truly amazing. Our total bill was right at twenty dollars, tax included. We can certainly recommend this restaurant.

The main dining room, we were told, is served by the same kitchen as the coffee shop. It has, however, a large salad bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Steaks great, salad bar included in price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Good food, lots of variety on the soup & salad bar, I had prime rib well done. It was very tender best ever. The waitress was kind enough to tell us they were about to Tear down the salad bar if we wanted to come & get something else. Sorry I didn't go for breakfast also

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good midAmerican chow, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We always stop here if it's dinner or lunch time en route on I70. The place never fails to satisfy. It's one of those classic places that old couples in Oldsmobiles like, and you can see why. Everything cooked properly, lots of variety, and an immense salad bar, all fresh. And there's beer! (US lagers).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niemerg's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Niemerg's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niemerg's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.