We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property at a great price"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Effingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Effingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Effingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Avenue of Mid-America, Effingham, IL 62401 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Effingham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful property at a great price"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beautiful rooms, lobby and halls. Very well maintained. A gem in the country. The decor was lovely and the entire property was very clean. There was a business center and lots of tourist info. But why was it locked in the business center? Really special, one of nicest hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    27
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
25
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NW Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have been traveling the long length of Illinois 3 or 4 times a year for many years. We used to stay at and enjoy Drury Inns because they are pet friendly, reasonable, and have free food & drinks. Now pet-free, we've stayed 3 times in Effingham at a place that is a real jewel! Thelma Keller's, formerly a Hilton, soon to be a Holiday Inn, is a terrific place to stay. Impeccably clean, beautifully decorated - a very classy place. At Christmastime, it was more beautifully decorated than any place we saw all season. They have an excellent restaurant and a small bar with a good selection of draft beers. Both are frequented by locals. Walmart's across the street, lots of food choices nearby and they have a very nice military rate. Exceptionally good! Just wish it was exactly half way for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EffinghamHI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Effingham, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
BPinMEFL-

We are honored to be your favorite place in central Illinois. We are anxious for you to return to see the complete enhancements that have been made now that we are officially the Holiday Inn. You will enjoy familiar faces while experiencing our Kids East Free Program with a paid adult order off our menu and all the amenities you're accustomed to from your previous stays.

We look forward to providing your 4th stay with us and many more down the road.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Level Contributor
246 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had to go to Effingham for a Rotary training convention and we opted to stay at the hotel since all the events were at the convention Center. Beautiful, lobby area and a nice place to eat, nice bar, nice breakfast for 6.95. The rooms were nice and large and very very clean. The pool looked nice and clean. Our room had a small refrigerator, a microwave, a coffee maker and was just so comfortable and plenty of plugs for all of our digital equipment and free Wi fi. Great stay and I would go back. Nice staff and the convention center did a great job as well. Very close to places to eat and shops if you forget anything there is a Wal-Mart and Kohls within walking distance.

Room Tip: Third floor king suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Owner lost Hilton Garden Inn Franchise for unstated reasons. The rooms are adequate. The prices in the restaurant are out of line or this part of the country. The room prices are too high for this part of the country. If you're looking for an excellent hotel experience keep on going to a real city. If stopping in middle of long interstate trip there are far less pretentious clean examples of real hospitality elsehere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Effingham, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear BusinessTravel48201,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We pass through Effingham, IL frequently when traveling to visit family. I can't say enough about this hotel. It is right off the interstate. The rooms are large, comfortably and clean. The pool is warm and clean. The food service is also excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This property was formerly a Hilton Garden Inn. Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. For those interested in the indoor pool, it was wonderfully warm! Perfect to just walk right into the water and enjoy. There is a Wal-Mart very close by and a Cheddars restaurant. The hotel also has a restaurant on site. We would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is connected to the Keller Convention Center and was a HGI during my stay but it may be changing it's affiliation soon. This should in no way deter you from staying here. Beautiful property in all ways; service, rooms, restaurant and location. 24 hour coffee service and small bar in lobby. Everyone super friendly and helpful.

If you're going to the Convention Center you definitely want to stay here. Lots of restaurants around, Starbucks, WalMart across street. Rates were reasonable. There aren't too many good hotels within a 30 mile radius of Effingham, but I'd go out of my way to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choice of Interstate or WalMart parking lot view. Doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn
BEST WESTERN Raintree Inn
#10 of 21 in Effingham
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 21 in Effingham
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Effingham

Address: 1301 Avenue of Mid-America, Effingham, IL 62401 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Effingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Effingham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
#4 Family Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Effingham 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Effingham, our Holiday Inn is the only hotel with an on-site restaurant and bar. Fully renovated in July 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Effingham Hotel Effingham
Hilton Effingham
Effingham Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Effingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.