We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Effingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Effingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Effingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Avenue of Mid-America, Effingham, IL 62401 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Effingham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel for 2 long weeks due to a business training my company provided. It is great hotel, professional staff, great service and the restaurant was excellent. Food was exceptional!
Beautiful lobby and waiting area with big comfy couches. Room was very clean. Comfortable bed and pillows. Great fitness and pool facility that kept me in shape after all the yummy food I ate from the restaurant.
I had a very enjoyable stay and well rested nights. Thanks to Hilton Garden Inn for being my home for 2 weeks. I highly recommend this hotel to other fellow travelers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
24
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

While in the middle of the complex where I-57 crosses I-95, with all the fast food restaurants and every hotel brand you have ever heard of (and some you certainly have not), The Hilton Garden Inn was a surprize for us when we recently stayed there for a high school reunion for my wife. The rooms in the hotel were on the verge of luxurious, and certainly the largest I have stayed in with this chain. They were quite well decorated, as was the rest of the hotel. The service was outstanding, and the meals in the on-site restauraunt were better than we would have thought they were. Quite a surprize. Really great rooms, outstanding service, and good food. Not something we would have expected for a hotel in this location. While there is nothing much to recommend around the hotel, or in the area, this hotel is worth the stop, if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms are not particularly cheap, but negotiations seem possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent one night at the Hilton Garden Inn in Effingham. I reserved a “1 Bedroom Suite” which I expected to be like most Hilton properties, where the bedroom is separated from the rest of the suite by a door. I realize there are many other hotel chains where a “suite” can mean nothing more separate sitting and sleeping areas separated by a knee wall, but Hilton is usually pretty good about reserving the term for real separate rooms, so you can put the kids to bed in one room while you stay up in the other. Unfortunately in this Hilton Garden Inn the suite is one large room with the bathroom situated in the middle, so there is a sitting area where you enter, then the hall and bathroom, then bedroom near the windows. Watching TV in either room guarantees that light and sound will easily travel to the other room.

The hotel has an upscale decor, from the landscaping to the light fixtures to the artwork. Even my 7-year-old commented on it. It seems as though they are trying to be a really fine downtown hotel even though they are located at a highway interchange amongst truck stops, fast food restaurants, and big box stores. Still, I wouldn’t be surprised if it is the most upscale hotel in the area. On the other hand, at times it almost made the hotel feel stuffy.

The room and hotel overall seemed very clean. Although our room faced the highway, we didn’t hear any road noise, or any noise from other guests inside the hotel. The air conditioning was a bit loud as it cycled on and off, but while on I very quickly grew accustomed to it.

While the hotel did provide water and had cookies in the evening they did not provide a free breakfast. Two of us did pay for breakfast, figuring it really wasn’t much more expensive than what we’d pay at a sit-down chain restaurant. The food was cooked to order, and quite tasty. We didn’t have dinner at the hotel, but the bar and restaurant looked crowded as we passed and since there are plenty of other options nearby, I suspect it is quite good.

While the hotel was OK, knowing that the suites aren’t really suites would help me more accurately compare prices to other properties in the area. I might stay again, but would be just as likely to try someplace else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Professionally managed. Fabulous restaurant. Helpful and attentive staff. Lovely rooms. All praise and cheers for this Hilton Garden Inn. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

the ppl qt the front desk were very very kind and curtious she helped carry stuff to our rooms. the only bad thing was tht i went to eat at the resturaunt and they got my order wrong. but i confeonted her about the mistake and she gave me a new meal plus a full refund on the whole bill, considering i was eating with 10 other ppl. very very impressed..!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

When visiting family in Mattoon, we generally stay at the Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn in Mattoon. Unfortunately, for our last visit we could not find a room for under $155/night because of Bagelfest. Instead, we decided to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Effingham. For $125/night, this was an excellent value for an above average hotel. This hotel is a step above Hampton Inn in terms of quality of furnishings and amenities. The room was spotlessly clean with no signs of wear or abuse that we could see. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was maybe a bit smaller than I expected based on the room size as a whole, but certainly serviceable. The hotel was right off the highway, but we could hear no noise. One thing I really enjoy about Garden Inn is the pantry at the front desk - it is nice to pick up a small bottle of wine or a beer and a snack to take back to the room without paying a ridiculous room service price.
We did not eat at the restaurant, but we did see what appeared to be a wedding party enjoying themselves there one evening. It appeared to be as clean and well run as the rest of the hotel.
Desk staff and housekeeping were all very pleasant and professional. I would certainly stay here again when in Effingham.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

While we have stayed in Effingham many times, this was our first stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We spent two nights here for a wedding and family reunion. The rooms were very nice, the pool/hot tub were great, and the breakfast (I definitely recommend getting the bed & breakfast package!) was fantastic. Housekeeping could be improved some but overall, the staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here on future visits.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Effingham

Address: 1301 Avenue of Mid-America, Effingham, IL 62401 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Effingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Effingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
#5 Family Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Effingham 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Effingham, our Holiday Inn is the only hotel with an on-site restaurant and bar. Fully renovated in July 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Effingham Hotel Effingham
Hilton Effingham
Effingham Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Effingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.