We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross at the Crossroads

Cross at the Crossroads
1900 Pike Ave, Effingham, IL 62401
217-347-2846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Effingham
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Greencastle, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Though our unhelpful GPS took us away from the cross at first, the sheer size meant we could not miss it. Really nice spot with friendly people ready to greet you. The visitors center is not a nursing home as it first appears, but rather has a wonderful 8 minute video about how the cross was constructed. I'm a fan.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Can see it from far away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice to walk up to it (and get the geocache nearby) and read the stations of the cross. Very peaceful walking around so good place to take a break and stretch your legs

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing Up Close, Visitor Center is Bonus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Cross at the Crossroads is something you can see from a great distance away, but it's well worth your time to see it up close. The Cross has an entire complex setup around it, as well as religious-themed extras to peruse.

Exiting Interstate 70 and driving up to the Cross, the service road that leads up to the Cross complex is in very rough shape. It's worse than even an normal gravel road. While the road is wide, there are some very large potholes in it, and it is very bumpy. If they want to be a big time tourist attraction, someone needs to pave the road.

The parking is not organized, as there are about two paved and marked non-handicapped parking spaces next to the visitor's center, and the rest of the parking area is where you just pull off to the side of the gravel ring road. Luckily, there's plenty of open space on the property so you can stand back from the Cross and take some good pictures, or simply stare in amazement at its size and scale.

The visitor center attendant, a volunteer named Bud, was very kind and helpful. He got us in the small theater room to view the construction video right off the bat, and was later gracious enough to show us into the chapel viewing room. The chapel has large viewing windows that look out onto the Cross, along with a very striking religious painting on the back wall. Bud said the artist who painted the picture created it in less than seven minutes!

There was also a map of the United States and Canada where visitors have entered push pins to show where they are from, and that was worth a very brief look as well. There is a glass display cabinet with items related to the Cross for sale, but they were minor religious-themed items like pendants, magnets, etc. Only a few of those items were specific to the Cross at the Crossroads. While it came as no surprise to me, it is worth noting the visitor's center and the Cross's grounds were very clean and well maintained.

Walking up to the Cross, there is a nice paved concrete walkway that leads from the ring road to the Cross. There are signs along the walkway letting you know about the eight minute video inside the visitor's center. A nice touch was the group of stone markers where supporters of the Cross listed their names or other messages.

The base of the Cross is a large concrete circle you can walk on, and on the outside of the circle are little displays with religious commandments, and a button you can press at each one to hear a short saying about that commandment.

I was concerned that the visit would be marked by some heavy-handed or intrusive religious messages, but that was not the case. You can look at the commandment displays or not, it's your choice. The construction video also stayed away from inserting any majorly annoying religious message. Even Bud the volunteer did not bug us by pushing any religious agenda.

Overall, I'm glad I took the time to visit the Cross at the Crossroads up close. It's one thing to see it from the highway, but it's much more striking when you can take the time to view it up close, and get more background info about it. If you're a casual tourist, it's worth the time to see once, and I'm sure the religious members of our TripAdvisor community will enjoy repeat visits.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, MO
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Imagery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The large white cross is easy to spot from the highway. Once you stop there are stations around the cross, a gift shop and a chapel. It's all very peaceful. I recommend that you go into the chapel for a photo op. The chapel has a large picture window that frames the cross, very beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Something to see.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I enjoyed my walk around reading the Stations of the Cross. It is a very quiet spot to have a few moments alone with your thoughts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross at the Crossroads also viewed

 

Been to Cross at the Crossroads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross at the Crossroads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.