We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure to stay there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 North Raney, Effingham, IL 62401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Effingham
Venice, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasure to stay there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We use a lot of Country Inn & Suites while traveling but this one is exceptional. The rooms are immaculate, the beds comfortable and the breakfast is enough to fill you up till lunch and then some. The staff is very accommodating and pleasant. We stay there everytime we are traveling through the area and would recommend this spot whole heartedly. In fact, we delayed our trip one day because they did not have a room available. We could have gone somewhere else, but chose to wait a day to we could stay at this location. Excellent place to stay.

Pat & Al Renfrew

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
37
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

When returning to Alabama after visiting our family in Wisconsin, we usually stop in Effingham, Illinois for the night. The usual evening desk clerk, I believe his name is Robert, is always very friendly and very accomodating. The rooms are always comfortable and clean and very affordable. There is a continental breakfast every morning which has always been good when we've eaten there. So, if you ever find yourself in the Effingham area, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I just returned from staying at this hotel for a week of training in the area. Check in and out were quick and efficient, the room was clean and well stocked, the property well-maintained, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfasts were the typical fare you find at a Country Inn & Suites. The hotel is located in a good location with a Wal-Mart and many restaurants within walking distance.

The only issues I had were that the alarm clock did not seem to work so I had to rely on my smart phone to wake me up in time. And when I tried to turn on the heater it set off the smoke alarm in my room so I had to turn it back to the AC. Fortunately it was warm during my stay so I didn't need to rely on the heater. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Matamoras, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September in a suite. The room was very nice and John at the front desk sent us to a great restaurant. I will stay there again. The interstate was under construction and it was great to get out of the traffic and get in a comfortable room. This hotel is right at the exit, so it was easy to leave the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McComb, Ohio
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is fine for an overnight stay and close to shopping and restaurants. Property was clean but rooms and building needed some minor updates. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Front desk will negotiate on room rates as they came down when we debated whether to check out other places as there are plenty of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family was traveling across country and needed a place to stay that was right off the highway so we could get back on the road bright and early the next morning. I've never stayed at a Country Inn but the price was so much better than at The Hampton Inn right next door and we got a room with two queen-sized beds as opposed to two doubles anywhere else. We have three kids and appreciated the bigger beds so everyone was more comfortable! The hotel offers a free hot breakfast, but not until 7 am on the weekends. We wanted to be on the road at 6:30 am the next day so we could not take advantage of it. I would definitely stay at a Country Inn again. The room was clean, large and the check-in staff was efficient and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was friendly but the person at the front desk said he was alone and seemed to be overwhelmed by the amount of business. This seemed strange since it was a Saturday night in June - prime vacation travel season. Room was OK - looked clean but smelled kind of musty. Pool was nice but was way to crowded because of it being a Saturday night. Breakfast was good. We might give this property another shot if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham

Address: 1200 North Raney, Effingham, IL 62401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Effingham
#3 Business Hotel in Effingham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town house and condominium style rooms with full kitchenette, washer/dryer. All king beds with pull out sofa-sleeper. A/C and free local/long-distance calling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Carlson, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham Hotel Effingham
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Country Inn Effingham
Effingham Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.